Volunteer Abroad

Global Crossroad

I have nothing but good things to say about my experience with Global Crossroad. I had a life changing experience volunteering at an orphanage for teenage mothers and their babies. My Spanish improved greatly with the offered Spanish lessons. The country coordinators were also very nice and helpful.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Jun 28, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Global Crossroad

I am so thankful for this program! I had a great time volunteering at a hospital with abandoned children. I helped with physical therapy with the hopes that these children will walk some day. Alyssa and Roger were great coordinators and helped answer all of my questions. I had a great experience with my host family, and the mother treated me like one of her own. I would recommend Global Crossroad to anyone.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Jun 28, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

VCD Nepal (Volunteer for Community Development Nepal)

Originally from Canada, I decided to study education for a year in Queensland, Australia. While
working towards my diploma in education, I founded and chaired Teachers Without Borders (TWB) USC On-Campus Chapter to help bridge the gap in education. As an official student group, TWB hosted barbeques, garage sales, wine and cheese nights and received generous donations to aid Nepalese children and teachers.

Once my studies were complete, I travelled to Nepal to volunteer and unearth an organization that was helping improve the quality of life for students and teachers in the country. I arrived in Nepal on November 21st, 2008.

Soon after my arrival, I met Kanute, an American eager to see the world. Kanute introduced me to Bikram, the director of Volunteer for Community Development Nepal, a small grassroots organization located in the heart of Kathmandu. I felt welcomed and comfortable in Bikram’s presence; his goals and his passion to achieve these goals were immediately evident.

Bikram arranged for a home stay at an orphanage outside of Kathmandu. I had the privilege of living with five orphans for two weeks. Helping the kids with their studies, making crafts and picking up litter in the community, I was able to experience Nepalese culture firsthand. During my stay at the orphanage, Bikram maintained contact and ensured that I was both safe and happy. At the end of the two weeks, I decided to make a monetary donation to VCD Nepal.

I sincerely believe VCD is the exemplar for volunteer abroad organizations. I would like to thank VCD Nepal and VCD director, Bikram, for giving me this unforgettable opportunity to make a difference at a grassroots level!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Jun 26, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Global Crossroad

When I asked for information about the programs, the information that was given was quite different than what the program actually was. Some information given was quite unclear, and I guess there was some misunderstanding and miscommunication.

When I was put through to my program coordinator in Nepal, he was very happy to help with all the problems and change my project to what I wanted. Once I got to Nepal, the worries all went away, everyone was very happy to help and very supportive. I had an amazing time at my project teaching English at monastery in Kathmandu. The people I have met have all been so wonderful and with the biggest hearts. I stayed with a host family, (DT and Anju) which made the experience so much more interesting. The monastery itself was amazing, and the monks so so sweet and wonderful. It was so much fun every day to go and see them and teach them. You really have a lot of freedom to teach whatever you want, I incorporated lots of art to my teaching. I had lots of free time to explore Kathmandu and the valley around, which I am very happy about. There is so much to see and do here. I am very sad to leave Nepal, it has been the most humbling, eye opening and wonderful experience. Thank you to everyone who has opened their hearts to me. <3 Nepal truly is a very beautiful place.

At the end of my volunteer project, I ended my time here with a week long trek to Ghorepani, Poon Hill for 5 days. Although it was monsoon season, we got very lucky with the weather, and got to see the most spectacular view of the Annapurnas. The trek itself is not very hard, very do-able. It was amazing- would recommend Three Sisters Trekking Company for all women guides- was a wonderful experience, very empowering.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Jun 25, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

My experience with projects abroad was such a positive experience, which allowed me to have the most journey in Nepal. I spent 5 weeks in Nepal performing physical therapy work. I was unsure of which organization to do my project through. But due to the variety, price, and review of projects abroad I decided to do my project through them.
Getting ready to travel abroad was a very confusing process for me as I had never traveled sole to a foreign country. However, Jessica my pre-departure support staff was helpful. She was a little slow to answer my questions, but she always responded. I also used the pre-departure website all the time- as it was extremely helpful.
During my stay in Nepal, I have no complaints whatsoever about my experience. The host family was amazing and completely accommodating to certain health restrictions in my diet and everything. I was placed at a rehabilitation center for children with cerebral palsy. I learned so much from the physical therapist and got a lot of hands on work.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Jun 24, 2017
Overall:
7
Support:
8
Value:
8

RCDP International Volunteer Abroad

I am Nadja from Norway and I joined RCDP international volunteering program in Sri Lanka, Galle, at the orphanage for children.

The children at the orphanage are incredibly kind, thoughtful and beautiful. After just three days I had gotten really attached to the kids and started wondering how I would manage to leave them. During my stay I have seen their kindness close up. I have seen the oldest kids look after the younger kids. The children at the orphanage are so incredibly beautiful, and they're always smiling, which made me smile the whole time I was there.

I stayed with Michael and his family. They have been wonderful, really kind, helpful and loving. Every time I asked the family about something they did their best to help me. Michael's grandchildren even started teaching me singalese because they wanted to help me.

Michael's wife made such good food, it was incredible. The other volunteers and I started saying that all of the meals
were our favorite meal, because everything tasted so good.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Sri Lanka
Posted: Jun 24, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
8
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

Despite the amazing reviews from other volunteers of Projects Abroad, I am devastated to say I have a really horrible one. I was recommended by a friend about this volunteer agent and similar like others, I was expecting a good experience with them. I am a 16 years old international student from Indonesia who lives in New York which means my parents are not in USA and in fact, I live in my school’s dorm. To fill in my 3 months summer break, I decided to enroll for a summer volunteer program and had done enough research about Projects Abroad. I was in contact with their staff named Laura before I enroll and I was told that she resigned. I called the central number to ask questions about the requirements of the project and was told to call directly the Belize embassy about the visa. The Belize embassy told me that I will not need visa to enter Belize as I have a US student visa (F4). Projects Abroad told me that everything was set and I was ready to enroll. On June 15th 2017, after nearly 4 months asking questions about the project, I finally enrolled to the Community and Conservation project in Belize. It was kind of last minute but I have it all prepared before the project started on June 19th 2017. I was in contact with the volunteer advisor, Carlos Orozco, who will prepare me for my departure on the 19th. He was the one who told me the requirements and the packing list as well as the one who connected me with the Projects Abroad Travel Team about my flight arrangements. I was planned to depart on the 18th using United Airlines from New York LaGuardia to Houston and get a connecting flight to Belize and then to Placencia. I have prepared everything and packed everything needed for my project (this means all the legal documents and the materials that Projects Abroad told me) before I departed. Projects Abroad emailed me the e-tickets and itinerary and also mentioned that I will ONLY need a copy of my passport and the copy of the e-ticket in order to board the airplane and that someone will be outside the airport in Belize when I arrived. They told me that they already have many underage volunteers like me beforehand and everything went well. I went to the airport at 3 am in the morning and was NOT allowed to check in and board by United Airlines because I was missing a NOTARIZED PARENT CONSENT (notarized not electrically signed) which is required by the Belize government in order for a minor like me to travel. I was surprised and confused as PROJECTS ABROAD DIDN’T TELL ME ANYTHING ABOUT THE NOTARIZED LEGAL CONSENT. I called the emergency number of projects abroad immediately and a staff told me to wait as she will contact the center which is still closed because it was still 3 am in the morning. I had to wait in the airport for 4 hours alone and NONE of the projects abroad staffs called me. The emergency staff told me that she will try to change my flights and move me to another project which is Mexico or Argentina which my father didn’t allow me because I was left alone at that time. Projects abroad said that they never had this issue beforehand and they will try to have a meeting with the immigration of Belize as they didn’t know anything about the notarized legal consent which is a regulation that Belize government made. However, what I really disappointed in is they HAVENT CONTACTED ME UNTIL NOW. Carlos Orozco, the volunteer advisor contacted me so often before, demand me for the full payment however after the problem arose, he never contacted me NOT EVEN ONCE. My brother also emailed him (Carlos), the center email (info@projectsabroad), and the travel team however, NONE of them replied. My father had to call all the way from Indonesia to Mexico and UK to speak with the CEO as none of the staffs contacted me. I am very disappointed in how they work. They are, indeed, a big agent however this shouldn’t make them feel less responsible of this matter. For other volunteers who want to enroll with them, please be aware.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Belize
Posted: Jun 24, 2017
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Frontier

I had a pleasant and informative placement in Greece on the turtle conservation project. It's well organised and i left feeling that i had learned a lot and was in a good position to decide if this is a field i want to pursue further in the future. Thanks.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Greece
Posted: Jun 23, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Institute for Field Research Expeditions - IFRE

I had a very fun time on this trip. Everyone was nice and very helpful, and the experience could not be matched. I would highly recommend this program to anyone that was interested in doing a volunteer abroad program in Nepal.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Jun 23, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

#itchangedmylife

Amazing to be part of such a wonderful group and programme. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The level of enthusiasm is unbeatable. Askari has been the most amazing trip and I have learnt so much. They really teach and show the importance of conservation. I am super excited knowing I’ll return next year. It was so incredible that I couldn’t leave without knowing when I would return. Katie and Ed – you guys are just incredible and I feel privileged to have spent time with you both, thank you for everything!"

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: South Africa
Posted: Jun 22, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Volunteer Abroad