TEFL

Global Vision International (GVI)

Going abroad to LPB in Laos was a great experience and I really enjoyed being able to get to know the people and the culture of southeast Asia.

I would recommend going for at at least a month to get the full experience, and in order to give the people you are interacting with a better chance at getting to know you. Also, I would plan to allot more money than you think you need initially since you will want to travel while there. Also, it is nice to be in Laos not during the heavy tourist season.

Overall it was a fantastic experience and I recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning about the way of life over there. However it is a bit of a culture shock so going into it I would say that you should keep an open mind and be patient. Definitely a worth while experience. Also the program that I did had to do with teaching English and the teaching is very legitimate and important, so if you don't think you would like actually teaching a class I would pick a different program.

Program: TEFL
Location: Laos
Posted: Apr 22, 2015
Overall:
9
Support:
6
Value:
7

Give a Heart To Africa

This is a review of my three weeks volunteering with Give Your Heart To Africa [GHTA] in Moshi Tanzania.

It was an excellent volunteer experience from the beginning to end. I was met at the Kilimanjaro Airport by the founder and coordinator Monika Fox. The 10 month program itself is for women wanting further education in order to set up a business and become independent. The program has three aspects - English, Vocational Training and Business. It is very well organized with excellent teaching/learning resources. I was involved in teaching English. The woman are enthusiastic, hard working and a joy to teach.

The classes are taught on-site in the mornings from Monday to Thursday. The accommodation for the six volunteers is good and secure. In terms of meals - volunteers are responsible for preparing breakfast and lunch while dinner is prepared every evening.

Overall the founder and coordinator, Monika Fox ensures a well organized and smooth running non-profit volunteer experience.
I would highly recommend GHTA as a meaningful and excellent volunteer experience in Tanzania

Program: TEFL
Location: Africa
Posted: Mar 27, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Island TEFL Thailand

I signed up for Philip's Program R in Bangkok for October 2014 around April or May the same year, when I was planning to quit my job and see my long distance girlfriend for our year anniversary together. The program consisted of an online, 8 lesson course for $499 and the on-site course for $795. After initial contact through email, he invoiced me only for the October course of $795. When I asked if, that if in the case of not being able to show up in October, could I just do the online course first, to which he ignored me, and I caved and payed him the $795. After which I started taking the online lessons, which were more than textbook like and not at all worth $499. They featured one long-as-hell articles followed by 3 or 4 review questions and very uninteresting videos made from a possible Walmart camera. After about three weeks and having completed two of the online lessons, I lost my job early due to company downsizing, and was no longer able to visit my long distance girlfriend for our first year anniversary together. Then when I asked for a refund, his response was very dry, simply saying it's against his "terms of agreement" even though the course didn't start for another four months. After which, I tried to get my $795 back by making a claim on PayPal, which I lost. Afterwards he sent me a threatening letter, demanding another $499 for the online textbook "course", claiming that his "Lawyer" would get my passport number from my drivers license picture and I would be in for a "surprise" when I come to visit my girlfriend. I cancelled payment and he replied again shortly, stating that his Lawyer would make sure I get detained at the airport, and "Hope you enjoy life behind bars!", "Other than KY, if there's anything else I can bring you please let me know!" And he forgot the comma after "you"; some TEFL manager. I also heard his real last name is Crabbe, like the greedy bastard from Spongebob Squarepants. Also a possible rape suspect in Koh Samui!? It's no wonder the mafia there put a hit on him and he had to escape on a fucking rowboat. Can someone please do us all a favor and just rid this fucking space occupier from our planet?

Program: TEFL
Location: Thailand
Posted: Mar 5, 2015
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

IBERO TEFL and Spanish course

This is the best TEFL and Spanish combination program I could find. I could not be happier. The school is very friendly and the program is great. I got a full time job as an English Teacher through Florencia and I am now currently working in Buenos Aires, Argentina. It is a dream come true! My 3 week Spanish lessons were great with Federico, who is both fun and funny and made grammar super easy to me. Now, the castellano is not a problem!
Thank you all at Ibero for a great experience!

Program: TEFL
Location: Argentina
Posted: Feb 11, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

IBERO TEFL and Spanish course

I took a 7 week Spanish and TEFL combined course at Ibero TEFL in Buenos Aires. Argentina. It was a great experience. Thank you Florencia for getting me a full time English Teaching job and thank you all at Ibero for being so helpful and friendly. I love the job I got through Ibero teaching Business English. I also spent 3 weeks stuying Spanish with my teacher Rita, who was fantastic. I learnt more in 3 weeks than in one year back at home. Overall, a great experience. Thank you all at Ibero! Gracias!

Program: TEFL
Location: Argentina
Posted: Feb 4, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Humanity Foundation

My Name is Vijay and I was an IT Professional. Now I am changing my career to Teaching English after completing the TESOL Course.

After having completed the TESOL Course in Bali, Indonesia, I was privileged to spend a month of quality time at IHF, Bali among the children and volunteer's of IHF.

I had the opportunity to be an hands-on English Teacher for Young Learners and Teenagers from the age of 8 to 16. It was very educational, and I learned alot of teaching knowledge from the time I spent here. Mainly, the different ways the Kids interact and the enthusiasm for learning.

There is so much satisfaction teaching kids and nothing can surpass the joy of helping others. Its great volunteering at IHF, Bali. I was really touched by the kindness of the kids, and I also had a chance to give back to the community in a meaningful way.

IHF in Bali gave me a opportunity to volunteer in the education center, to teach English classes to different ages of students as the students get to learn only a minimal English at the School. The friends I made at this center will surely live in my heart for a long time. The experience has been a very good experience in my life. Anyone looking to make a difference in the world, help children, the community and make great memories with some amazing people should join IHF.

This experience is a very good memory which will always remain throughout my life. All the volunteer's at IHF helped me very much at making this experience a success and also very educational.

IHF provides good meals and housing. The living conditions were suitable for any person from any part of the world since there were volunteer's from almost all parts of the world.

As a work-study volunteer, you get to be part of a team and complete tasks assigned by the respective Team Director. This is helpful for every volunteer to work as a team and communicate with other team members for a real life work experience.

At IHF, I had managed a class with around 4 students to a class with more than 20 students. Its a satisfying experience in my life. Through volunteering in IHF, around the most underprivileged families, you can become down to earth and also know the amount of facilities that the underprivileged families have. I highly recommend IHF to all who want to make a difference in their life and give back to the community and be selfless.

It's a experience that I will always cherish for the rest of my life and will do the same in your life too.

Wish you all a very Happy New Year 2015.

Best Wishes
Vijay

Program: TEFL
Location: Indonesia
Posted: Dec 26, 2014
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
10

Language House TEFL - Prague

This is an amazing program with amazing instructors. My wife and I both did this program, and they made us feel comfortable from day one. They were available to answer all of our questions before, during, and after the course. The staff is knowledgable, funny, and really push you to your full potential. My wife and I both taught Elementary and Middle School in America, and we were blown away by the methodology and general teaching strategies. Not only did we learn how to become successful TEFL teachers living abroad, but we learned how to be better teachers in any setting. Their job assistance was also extremely helpful - we both had jobs by the third week of the course. We recommend this to everyone!

Program: TEFL
Location: Czech Republic
Posted: Dec 15, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Island TEFL Thailand

I don't recommend this school. I used them a while back and thought they were pretty unorganised and sloppy. Everything seemed to be on the hoof. Actually, there was a post up before by a guy called "TEFL Teacher" that I commented on. For some reason it got deleted including my comments. I don't know why. I've put it back here because it corresponds roughly with my experience:

"Don’t give them a single penny! Island TEFL is the most fraudulent company I’ve come across (and I live in Thailand), The main guy, Phil, doesn’t do any of the work but instead uses a free teaching agency and you pay Phil essentially to hook up with them when you can do this yourself FREE. Phil is a poor business man, and was consistently rude and undelivered on every request I made, all due to his sheer laziness. Sister companies include ...... and ..........., I would avoid these too, they’re all set up to make a boat load of money from vulnerable and eager travelers."

Program: TEFL
Location: Thailand
Posted: Dec 5, 2014
Overall:
3
Support:
4
Value:
2

GIC Argentina

I have a very large problem here with these "middleman" companies. This is exactly what GIC Argentina is. I recently returned from an 8-month stint living in Argetina, getting certified for TEFL, and teaching English. I became acquainted with this GIC program through an internet search. Knowing what I do now, this was my first mistake. NEVER, EVER go through one of these google internet search sites that advertise setting foreign students up abroad with housing, programs, etc. They charge absolutely ridiculous commission fees (often 100% commission).
When I first registered with GIC, I selected for them to arrange my housing, as well as my TEFL program. For the TEFL program, they wanted to charge me $2000. After searching more about the specific program online, I found that I was able to register DIRECTLY through the company that offered the program (TEFL Buenos Aires) for only $1500. The only thing GIC would have done for me, is make a couple phone calls, and enroll me in this same TEFL program, but charge me $500 more for it. That was their commission fee, $500, just for making a few phone calls and putting my name on a list for this TEFL program. $500! Insane. I registered directly through the company that hosted the TEFL program, (which only had 3 students in it), and saved myself a whopping 25% off the GIC price. It was very easy to do, I just looked up the programs main website, and easily registered through there website. GIC would have made $500 just for making a couple phone calls, something one can easily do themselves, and something I did eventually do for myself. $500 is more than a months rent in Argentina…..to put that into perspective.

Next up, the housing. This was my biggest mistake. Again, NEVER have someone set you up with housing over the internet, without first SEEING through pictures or something, an actual image of the residence where you will be staying. While GIC did put me in a great location for my TEFL class (which was their priority, to put me in housing nearest to my TEFL class), they again charged an absurd commission. They charged me $600 a month, or $175 per week. After arriving in Argentina, and seeing the accommodations, I wasn't too happy- but I figured that this was just Argentina, and to not be too snobby of an American. Then I found out that a few of my roommates- also foreign college students- were paying the landlord directly. Want to guess the price they were paying to the landlord? $300 a month, or more or less $75-80 a week. So again, my other roommates were paying the landlord directly, at $300 a month, while I was paying GIC $600 a month, for the same exact housing. Again, GIC charged me a 100% commission! THAT IS INSANE! And we all know that GIC just pays the landlord the $300 that she asks, and pockets the other $300. So again, all they did, was make a few phone calls, and shake a few hands, and made $300. This was something I again could have easily done on my own. Now what really pissed me off, was when my residence began having cockroach and bug problems, and rats from the meat store on the corner. Disgusting. Plus, the power went out once a week, and the internet rarely worked. Maybe I could handle this if I was paying $300 a month, but at $600 a month, you've got to be kidding me. No one pays double the normal for rent and gets a rat and cockroach infested house. That is just horrible business.

Needless to say, I found an apartment easily on my own after that, in a much much better location in the city, and for a price of $300 a month. I used an Argentine apartment website called compartodepto.com. I asked GIC to immediately refund my last 2 weeks in this residence, which they did so, and refunded me my money without hassle. The guy at GIC (and I say guy, because it is just one person who works for GIC) was compliant and wanted to do what he could to fix the problem. I do not have any complaints about the customer service. I had extremely limited contact with anyone from GIC, and only ever heard from the employee at GIC when I emailed him, extremely upset about my housing. But when I did contact them, they were helpful and compliant.

So overall, never go through any online "middleman" service that is going to put you into a program or find you a residence. They will charge you absolutely absurd commission charges, for simple tasks you could easily do yourself, if you know where to look. Just do some research on how to apply for programs and housing DIRECTLY through the companies offering them, because going through foreign student sites and what not will have you easily flagged as a dumb foreigner, and you will be taken advantage of monetarily. Unfortunately this is quite the common character trait for Argentinians (and they admit it themselves).
Do not use any middleman services, like these study abroad groups, or things like that. While some people may have had good experiences, my housing experience was awful, and even more so, for the price I paid. So if you are looking to study abroad in Argentina, apply to any programs directly through the program. And for housing, first book yourself into a cheap hostel- and then look for your own housing/apartment while in Argentina, so you can see the residence and talk to the people who are directly renting the apartment. This way, you will not be AS easily ripped off. These online websites specifically target foreigners that want to travel to the country alone and without any knowledge- and want to have things settled for them when they arrive and be comfortable, but you are paying an extremely inflated price for this service. I found it very, very easy to do all of these things on my own when I was in Argentina (I had intermediate SPanish speaking abilities then). So overall, do not get lazy and just pay someone to do these simple tasks for you. Do your own research, and apply directly to the companies, because otherwise, middleman services like this will always take you for a ride. At least they took me for one.

Program: TEFL
Location: Argentina
Posted: Nov 28, 2014
Overall:
5
Support:
7
Value:
2

Language House TEFL - Prague

This program was very benificial. I will say it was very intense though! It is not for the weak. You are in a new country and taking a college level course that has been condensed down into one month. After that warning I would still reccomended that if you contemplating this course you should do it. The staff are supportive and helpful. The teachers and observers help you fine tune your teaching skills. There is a large community of support. After you take the course here in Prague you can go almost anywhere in the world and find fellow Language House grads to connect with. I was not a teacher before I came here but I feel I am able to go out and teach English as a foreign language now.

Program: TEFL
Location: Czech Republic
Posted: Nov 11, 2014
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - TEFL