Study Abroad

Forum Nexus

This was the absolute best decision I made last summer. Throughout college I have wanted to go abroad, but a lot of programs did not appeal to me until I found Forum-Nexus. It gives you everything from fantastic professors in class to amazing cultural tours. You get the best of both worlds by studying in Europe will traveling throughout it. The director Hugo is the most amazing person you will ever meet. He knows how to cheer you up on a Monday morning even if its 8am. The friends you meet on this trip will last you a lifetime. You get to meet so many incredible people and hear their stories while traveling to 5 different countries. I really enjoyed my time on Forum-Nexus and wish I could be back every single day.

Program: Study Abroad
Location:
Posted: Feb 9, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Forum Nexus

Forum-Nexus was the best decision I have ever made. This program is so unique in that there is something for everyone. There are courses available for all majors, and there are destinations that will captivate everyone’s tastes. Whether you are a lover of the busy city streets or a quiet small town in the mountains, you will see it all. I gained so much international experience as well as such an appreciation for cultural differences. The classes were interesting, relevant, and put me ahead on my track to graduation. The staff members are so intelligent, fun, and help make you feel safe / comfortable transitioning into an international setting. There is so much time to balance social activities with studies. I was able to explore the night life in each town, go on independent excursions, and bond with other students in the program. I left this trip with an entire new network of best friends (many of which I still keep in daily contact with) and I feel more excited than ever to continue traveling and expanding my cultural intelligence. There are scholarships available so take advantage of them and go abroad with Forum Nexus! You will not regret it.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Jan 26, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Forum Nexus

I was lucky enough to be able to go to Europe last summer with Forum Nexus. This program is truly one of a kind. We visited 9 cities in 5 weeks, which was perfect. I learned so much about myself and I was able to become more confident with who I was. I also met so many amazing people who changed my life for the better. The staff of this program is extremely knowledgable and helpful. If you have the chance to visit Europe with Forum Nexus, seriously take it. It was an experience I will never forget.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Europe
Posted: Jan 22, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Sol Education Abroad

This experience was very life changing. I met one of my best friends while abroad, learned Spanish, and got to see beautiful architecture and beaches. This experience made me change my minor from business to Spanish. It also has inspired me to want to study abroad again, but for a longer time period next time. I am so thankful for Sol Education Abraod for allowing me to have an unforgettable summer.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Jan 16, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

China Study Abroad

BFSU-SolBridge International School of Business was established in line with a vision to create a truly progressive and highly integrated business education program that combines an international business teaching model with an in-depth understanding of the Chinese economy. .The campus, located at Beijing Foreign Studies University (BFSU), in the capital of China, provides the perfect setting for such a dynamic program, focusing on Chinese businesses and their evolving relationships with western and other nations. It is run by International Business School (IBS) of BFSU.

BFSU-SolBridge International School of Business offers students a most pertinent and unique combination of subjects, addressing contemporary Chinese business concerns, Chinese culture, Asian values and advanced Western and American business practice and management. Students are encouraged to develop themselves into responsible, ethical business leaders who solve contentious corporate issues with a strong practical and theoretical grounding and cultural sensitivity.

All class instruction and discussions of contemporary business issues are done in English, drawing on the vast knowledge and experience of our international faculty. In addition, an interactive and applied learning model is followed in order to give students valuable practical experience in the corporate world.

Chinese language forms a part of the curriculum to better help prepare students to understand the local culture and economy and take advantage of rewarding internship and employment opportunities locally and abroad.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Jan 15, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

AFS

My family hosted through AFS twice. AFS was hosting a booth at the High school my son was going to start at in the Fall. As someone who spent summers abroad, I saw the value in having students come and understand our culture and school system.

The first year I participated in AFS, I did a double placement. My one student did really well with us. The other student not so much. Counting the students with us we have become a family of 7. The student articulated that she did not want to be in such a large family or being a part of a double placement. That bothers me since she was aware of our family size and hosting situation before she left her country. I had a few concerns about the students mental health and expectations. My husband and I tried multiple times with AFS to understand the core of what students are told and to make the best compromises with the students expectations. Even though she was not an only child at home, we felt that she was not understanding the dynamic of time and money.

The issue with AFS was how they deal with compromising. I did not feel that there was a lot of support for a student that was struggling like she was. They would talk to her separately, but never follow up with us in regards to what was discussed. Every couple of months we would have the same issues with that student. I received an email from that student a few months after her stay with us stating how we were the worst experience of her life. That was hurtful given how much energy and money was put into the relationship. I reached out to AFS in regards to this note, but never received a follow up from them.

Regardless, we hosted again and changed the variables. We decided to host only 1 student and I read with a fine toothed comb the letter the student wrote to the family. All the family has to go on is this letter. In hindsight I would have liked to have seen more including social media. That could go for both sides. I'm accepting a person in my home for a year, I want to make sure that we are the right fit.

The student arrives to our country and already during the orientation she is very distracted. The liaisons pulled her out and found out she is in love with a boy she met and how she hates that she left him... They did call and warn me.

I pick her up and the first few weeks are ok. The student was always tired so she really did not get acclimated with us too much. I wrote a lot of it off as jet lag. I felt I was trying hard to acclimate her and not put pressure on the student.

So my student decides to go to a concert with some of her friends, but DRINK while she is there. She became so sick that the paramedics were called and she was taken to the hospital. She did not call us or the liason. After the hospital released the minor, she called us to pick her up. I was pretty upset. I called AFS for guidance and reiterated the displeasure of how neither us or the program was contacted. Under AFS rules she should have been sent home. After many weeks AFS finally sends her a warning letter to sign and that she could stay if she follows the rules. The letter also stated that if they get her medical records that they will send her home if the levels of alcohol were too high.

At this she starts freaking out telling me how she did a lot of weed in her home country. I'm upset at this because I'm not ok with a teen who does this in my home. I submitted feedback to AFS regarding better vetting students and there was no follow up.

At some point this student did not like living us, but never expressed any issues. She complained how for 15K she is not getting anything in return from AFS. She complained about our family to her school peers and found herself a new host family. AFS came and removed her. Never told us of any issues. We were completely blindsided, but my liason kept emphasizing how I did nothing wrong. She continues to attend the same school as my son.

By AFS guidelines this student continued to break rules, but also got to call the shots.

I will not host with AFS because of the lack communication and support when dealing with difficult situations. I love my one student but it was not because of AFS, it was because she was an appropriate student for the type of program. That is not true with the majority of students. I'm constantly filling out surveys, but I have never been talked to about the feedback. In the end, you feel disposable. There is a lot of responsibility involved in being a parent to a teen, given how AFS handles the situations I'm not interested in taking on the liability.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: USA
Posted: Jan 9, 2018
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Go Abroad China (GAC) ***Warning Fake Reviews***

My great experience at BLCU

I had the opportunity of a lifetime and got to study abroad in BLCU in Beijing China, through Go Abroad China I always knew I wanted to study abroad, but it was an overwhelming thought with all of the options of places to go, figuring out how to make it work with my university and all the little details in between.They helped make the entire process smooth and enjoyable. I had an advisor the whole way through who helped me make sure I was as ready as possible for my trip abroad. Once I was there, I had the most amazing 2 months of my life.

At BLCU University Classes began soon after registration and the pace of learning was definitely not what I was used to before. Back at home, sentence structures and phrases that would take me at least a month to fully master, at BLCU University it was just a week’s task. Although in the beginning I felt a bit overwhelmed, after a while, though, things got much better and I adjusted comfortably. One thing I am still reeling about even now is the amount of homework that the Chinese teachers assigned! Now I understand why they say at least six months of serious Mandarin/ Chinese study will lead to accelerated results. The good thing about the University is that they will place you in a class of people who have a similar Chinese ability to you. Learning was fun, interactive and it’s relatively simple to feel motivated if everyone around you is also determined

Ive created life long friendships, got to see the most spectacular views and most of all I got to experience a different culture and truly appreciate what they had to offer. I highly encourage everyone to study abroad!

Program: Study Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Dec 18, 2017
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
10

Go Abroad China (GAC) ***Warning Fake Reviews***

My great experience at BLCU

I had the opportunity of a lifetime and got to study abroad in BLCU in Beijing China, through Go Abroad China I always knew I wanted to study abroad, but it was an overwhelming thought with all of the options of places to go, figuring out how to make it work with my university and all the little details in between.They helped make the entire process smooth and enjoyable. I had an advisor the whole way through who helped me make sure I was as ready as possible for my trip abroad. Once I was there, I had the most amazing 2 months of my life.

At BLCU University Classes began soon after registration and the pace of learning was definitely not what I was used to before. Back at home, sentence structures and phrases that would take me at least a month to fully master, at BLCU University it was just a week’s task. Although in the beginning I felt a bit overwhelmed, after a while, though, things got much better and I adjusted comfortably. One thing I am still reeling about even now is the amount of homework that the Chinese teachers assigned! Now I understand why they say at least six months of serious Mandarin/ Chinese study will lead to accelerated results. The good thing about the University is that they will place you in a class of people who have a similar Chinese ability to you. Learning was fun, interactive and it’s relatively simple to feel motivated if everyone around you is also determined

Ive created life long friendships, got to see the most spectacular views and most of all I got to experience a different culture and truly appreciate what they had to offer. I highly encourage everyone to study abroad!

Program: Study Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Dec 18, 2017
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
10

AFS

If there were a rating for negative score, I would have given negative. Now, I have to give 1 star reluctantly. I urge those students who want to participate in this program to think seriously that AFS especially Canada is definitely NOT an option to go.

My daughter has a disappointed, disgraceful and humiliated experience with AFS Canada. They not only lack of empathy, but also treat a 16-year-old girl mercilessly.

My daughter departed from Hong Kong to Quebec the end of August 2017 with full of fantasy, yet ending with early return on Nov 30, 2017 due to her own grandma’s terminal illness. Grandma’s illness was found out the mid of September, which was after my girl had departed to Quebec, and deteriorated drastically. Sadly, she passed away last Sunday, Dec 3.

AFS Hong Kong did arrange once for “trip interruption” in October to see grandma and the Senior Manager told us clearly that the next “trip interruption” would be for funeral. When we requested AFS Canada to let my girl coming back to see grandma the last time or even to attend the funeral, they not only declined our request but also forced my girl to choose between staying with the program and seeing grandma the last time and/or attending her funeral. She chose the latter and got returned home for good. Although we have been trying to explain many times, AFS Canada declined cold-heartedly and insisted that she has broken the rule without considering the real situation.

There were still many terrible experiences that my girl had encountered, which we think AFS Canada have violated the human rights and privacy acts, such as:
-She was taken away by another volunteer from the host family without notifying us when she returned from Hong Kong during the "trip interruption" ;
-the volunteer forced her to hand over her mobile phone and computer and be kept by the volunteer so that she could not send any message to home, or else, she would be early returned;
-she was also forced to show the messages between her and the host sister, who took her out for lunch and chatted, to the volunteer and then was told angrily that she cannot “disturb” the host sister anymore;
-under such isolation, we had no choice but to contact one of her friends/classmates in Quebec by Facebook in order to understand her real situation, we really worried about her safety. Unfortunately, such act was somehow found out by the volunteer who got mad and asked my girl to tell us to stop contacting her friend immediately. This is really ridiculous!

One night, we received her whatsapp because she was allowed to use the phone for 1 hour, she begged me to let her come back because she was frightened and helpless. It was really heartbreaking. We tried to talk to AFS Hong Kong and see if they could provide any assistance, but turned out negatively. Luckily, her friend’s family in Quebec is very kind and willing to host her the rest of the program and registered as AFS host. She became very happy eventually. Unfortunately, grandma’s life started counting down in days as told by doctor, but AFS Canada insisted that she can only choose between stay with the program or leave for good, she returned Hong Kong without hesitation.

What we wonder is, Canada as a country which human right priors to everything and how can AFS Canada be so cruel to a 16-year-old girl whose wish is so simple, pure and full of love to grandma. Besides, we have paid around US$15,000 to join this program and she has now been forced to return home by doing nothing wrong. Our money had just gone to drainage. We are just a normal family and this amount of money is pretty much to us. It seems that they don’t care about what happen to you, just send you home and that’s it, no hassle anymore. Is AFS really a non-profit making organization? I doubt it! Furthermore, it is hard for my girl to return to school in the middle of school year. That’s why I have to warn those who want to join this exchange program to Canada to think twice before you take any action.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Canada
Posted: Dec 11, 2017
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Sol Education Abroad

The SOL abroad program in Costa Rica is phenomenal.
The Staff: The program directors are amazing. They offer 24/7 support for anything from homesickness to difficult schoolwork to travel recommendations to the flu. They are personally invested in making sure that the students have what they need and that they get everything they can out of the program.
The Students: While I'm sure this varies depending on the group, my particular bunch of students got along great. The students come from all over the Unites States. As the directors put it, each student is a unique ingredient in the "SOL soup." This program brings together people with different experiences and backgrounds, and gives them the space to explore this new culture together.
The Country: Costa Rica is unlike any place on earth. The people are warm and welcoming, and "Pura Vida" ("Pure Life") is not just a catch phrase: it truly is their way of living. For a $20 round trip ticket, you can travel anywhere in the country, going from vibrant city streets to virgin rain forests to sleepy beach towns in under an hour. Costa Rica is a place of infinite exploration, and everything is easily accessible and often extremely affordable (especially if you don't mind staying in hostels).
The Excursions: SOL picks a variety of excursions and cultural activities that presents the students with the best of the country. The activities and trips are well organized, and they are enriching experiences for all those that chose to participate. The directors ensure that the students have all of the necessary knowledge needed to gain everything they can from each outing (a testament to their devotion to the experience of the students).

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Costa Rica
Posted: Dec 8, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Study Abroad