Original Volunteers

Not Verified What's this?
8.1 / 10 after 88 Reviews Based on overall, support & value average ratings

Submit a review

A massive thank you to Original Volunteers and my coordinator, Asim, for an amazing stay in Nepal. This was my first time volunteering and it was an experience I will never forget. I spent almost two weeks at the children's happy home in Pokhara, Nepal not only volunteering but also learning about traditional Nepalese culture. The children were all boys aged between 5 and 16 years and their happiness, friendliness, and warmth on a day to day basis made my stay with them so enjoyable and I miss them dearly. Daily activities included helping the boys with their homework before and after school, helping around the house, and playing with them. As the boys went to school myself and the other volunteers had free time to explore the scenic and picturesque mountain town. As a citizen in a modern and advanced western world it struck me by how hard life is in the village for the poorer community yet for these young boys it is just a normal way of living. I will definitely keep in touch with Asim and I wish to return in the future to help with the developing projects.

Program:
Location:
Posted: October 1, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
7
Value:
10
Age:
20

This was my first volunteering abroad trip ever. I was a little bit worry about traveling alone to volunteer but this all gone since I met the other enthusiastic lovely volunteers in Marrakech, Morocco.

Although my flights were delayed so many times, I did let them know about the changes, they were at the airport when I arrived to pick me up.

I spent two weeks with Original Volunteers in Morocco (August 28, 2017 to September 10, 2017) and it went so fast as if it was two days only.

I really enjoyed my time there.I loved the volunteering projects we did. We did the following activities:
- Cuddling and Playing with orphan kids in Baby Orphanage Centers
- Feeding homeless people.
- Painting old schools' walls for better children’s learning environments.
- Visiting villages to make children learning activities and games

Also, we spent our free time doing so much interesting things like:
Quad biking, waterfalls hike, and camel riding

Over the weekend, we stayed overnight at a barber house to learn how to cook some Moroccan dishes and mint-tea. In addition, we spent one night sleeping in the desert, the stars were so bright on the night it was really amazing.

At the end, basically, this trip is unforgettable as it is one of the best two weeks in my life. The other volunteers make my experience even greater. Original Volunteers coordinators were so friendly.

Thank you Original Volunteers!

Program:
Location:
Posted: September 22, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
By: Hussain
Age:
23

Ghana was the ideal "first time volunteering" destination in Africa; a safe, politically stable, friendly country steeped in West-African culture and tradition. The project I attended was based in a rural village some 5-hours drive North from the capital. The volunteer house was a great place and had a good community-spirit. All individual rooms, with communal outdoor area, kitchen and a lounge (which has a TV and DVD player!!) It also had electricity, running water, showers and western-style toilets.

Original Volunteers were a fantastic organisation in the UK, and they people I spoke to were always very helpful (including during my time in Ghana when I had to email them - they got straight back and solved my problem!). Original Volunteers definitely were very helpful and friendly! :)

The organisation in Ghana which Original Volunteers sent me to was a local NGO involved in Education, Construction, Healthcare and Outreach work in the villages. The NGO was ran by a local politician, who had 3 members of staff below him.

I had the opportunities to teach in local schools - both primary and senior high schools. The schools have wonderful, enthusiastic, positive children who are very eager to learn and love the fact that Westerners are there teaching them. Some tips would be to bring pens, pencils, crayons and as much coloured paper as possible (the local shops sell bland stationary like white paper and standard pens and pencils, but the kids love anything coloured which has "luxury" value!). As for jotters and ordinary pens and pencils, these can be bought extremely cheap in the local stationary shop. The kids absolutely LOVE crayons, colouring-in pens, stationary, picture-books (especially ones teaching English) and school jotters. Also, the local schools are very deserving of things like chalk, blackboard dusters, teaching material, etc. (even simple things like pretend-clocks to teach kids the time, etc).

In addition to teaching, we also had a fantastic opportunity to do construction work and (if you're a healthcare professional) you can do nursing and medical-related volunteering with the local hospital too. Very good opportunities.

In our spare time, we had amazing trips with the other volunteers. Most people came on their own as solo-travellers, and we went in January-March when it was quieter, which was great because we bonded very well as a group. There's plenty places to explore locally, but at weekends it's cheap to hire a minibus + driver and drive down to the Coast. Although it's a 5-hour journey, it's amazingly cheap and the road-trip is an experience in itself!

All in all, a great experience, met great volunteers, the locals are really nice, and Original Volunteers in England were very helpful to me, including whilst I was in Ghana. :)

Program:
Location:
Posted: June 16, 2017
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
10
Age:
30

I spend one month (August 2016) in the Original Volunteers project set in Thailand. I volunteered as an English teacher in a primary school in Phang Nga, southern Thailand. During my stay there I also have the opportunity to collaborate at the Sena School English Camp for teens.

I would describe my stay as adventurous, enjoyable, rich and worthwhile experience. For this reason I truly recommend this rewarding experience with Original Volunteers. This company offers a good value for money; I can affirm the costs are reasonably priced. Also, provides you with advices and support before and during your stay there. The facilities for the volunteers are impressive good taking into account the poor place where the project takes place.

Teaching English to Thai children provides them a wide range of their opportunities to work and find a good job position in their adulthood. I wanted to help and give a better future for the children. As the same way I wanted to give the moral of the children a huge boost and present them enjoyable English activities. This was one of the main reasons which makes me took the decision of being a volunteer. Collaborate with this project let me met my expectations. It makes me feel really good to be able to collaborate in that local community to improve and increase their English level.

Volunteers went out to small town where little or no English is spoken. There we taught in local schools every day. The town I did my volunteer was called Khok Kloy. The weekdays all the volunteers slept in the same hostel pretty close to the different schools where we collaborate. Every morning a tuk-tuk taxi pick up us and drop of to the schools. There were two teacher volunteers per school (there were never a volunteer teaching alone in a school). I did class of English to children of different ages (from nursery to 12 years old) during all morning (5 hours per day). I must say I felt really comfortable teaching to that school. The teachers and the director of the school were really nice with the volunteers during all our stay there. We have lunch with the teacher staff who share us their food. They are really interested in meeting us and let us be part of the staff team. Students were really motivated for English classes and meet new volunteers from other countries.

Teachers follow the Thai Government curriculum which makes the lessons relevant to the children education. The classes we taught in the school where already programmed by Original Volunteers teachers team, but we also have the opportunity to create new activities at the end of the class or change the way to present (if we thought it could be easily learned by the students). To sum up, we follow the program but we were free to create new activities and English games to motivate them. Even thought they are already motivated for learning English. As teachers reported, children enjoy the volunteer’s activities and they are “hungry for English”.

I will appeal to the food. As I said before Thai teachers share their meal with the volunteers. It was a good excuse to eat and taste the real Thai food cooked by the teachers. Disappointingly, in the hostel the food service is limited. But there are a thai tesco, street markets, shops, and pharmacy in fifteen minutes walking from there.

During my stay there I felt well looked after by the coordinators and other teachers of the project. There was always somebody there able to help and assistance me. When it comes the communication with the company was excellent being always happy to answer all my queries and doubts.
Before I went to Thailand the company helped me get in touch with other futures volunteers who will share the same project during my stay there. I was able to meet and chat them before my arrival at the project. Despite I went there alone, I never felt as I was on my own. We created a really nice volunteer teachers team in the school where the project took place. We also have the opportunity to share trips around the country of Thailand when the project ends.

It was definitely a worthwhile experience that I will never forget. I came back to my country with my bag full of lovely and brilliant memories from Thailand. Thanks Original Volunteer for let me be part of your admirable, skilful and great team.
You will be always a part of me.

Program:
Location:
Posted: June 6, 2017
Overall:
8
Support:
8
Value:
8
By: MarRof
Age:
23
Program:
Location:
Posted: June 6, 2017
Overall:
8
Support:
8
Value:
8
By: Mar Rof
Age:

Pages