Tanzania

Frontier

I spent 4 weeks on the Tanzania Teaching programme on Mafia Island. It was the best experience of my life.
The camp is in a small town called Utende, the town is lovely and the people are so friendly. Staff on camp are some of the most greatest people I've ever met and never fail to amaze me with the passion they have for their chosen project whether that is marine, teaching or terrestrial. The camp is a basic camp. Although basic, beds are comfortable, there is plenty of food and showers are refreshing, if a little cold. Food on camp was much better than expected, not just rice and beans! Lunch is usually rice and beans but dinner is always tasty whether it is pumpkin, cabbage or mchicha, its great!
The teaching project was great, while in Tanzania I earned my 20-Hour TEFL certificate. This was done quite easily because as well as school hours there are so many people in Utende who want to learn/improve their english. Teaching at school was a great experience.
Any spare time i had, was spent tagging along with the terrestrial team on a walk or snorkelling with Team Marine, visiting surrounding islands, heading to the main town of Kilindoni or just hanging out either at camp or on the beach.
I would recommend this programme to anyone who was considering it. The island is absolutely gorgeous, the people are lovely and i am so sad to be leaving here and i know the next opportunity i get i will be back in this amazing place with Frontier.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: May 10, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Comments

Rachel, Thanks for your review, and for your efforts on the project. And congrats on your certificate!

Frontier

I had a 6 week company with frontier as a 'tanzanian adventurer' one of the best 6 weeks of my life and recommend it to anyone interested.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: May 10, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
7

Comments

Thanks for your review, it's much appreciated!

Institute for Field Research Expeditions - IFRE

I had 3 weeks at Mama Janes Orphanage AKA Jane Olevolos' Orphanage. The location is in a rural village outside of Arusha, with a 30 min walk to the local market in Ngaramtoni and a 30 min daladala ride from Ngaramtoni to Arusha downtown (and the closest internet cafe).
My experience was a very fulfilling one and I believe that I gained so much from all of the children there, there is definately a benefit to living on location with all of the kids, you get to know them personally and their characters begin to shine through after a very short time. All of the children are very well behaved and have a lot of love and respect for their Mama Jane. She is a remarkable woman with a huge heart and has the orphanage running like a well oiled machine!!!
Everyone here was extremely welcoming and made sure I had everything I needed, I did feel spoiled. If you are looking for the experience of a lifetime with some remarkable children this is definately the place to be, but just be aware it is rural. I immersed myself in their way of life and helped out in every way I could, cooking, collecting water, going to market to get food, education of the kindergarten kids 8:30-12pm tuition of the 'tweens' 4-5:30pm then playing, & interacting with all of the kids in between, oh and I learned all of the Swahili & Maasai I know from them too, they are good teachers! Loved my experience, loved the kids, loved Mama Jane highly recommend it.
On a side note the orphanage is immersed in the christian religion, I am not at all religious but was very respectful of their faith and they were OK with that, I was there for the kids that's where my heart was and that's all that mattered.

Deo was my Tanzanian co-ordinator, he is excellent gets you to the home base in Moshi from the airport, and makes sure you're setup with a phone, and volunteer permit within a day, then personally delivers you to your project and is available at all times via phone if needed, and he's just an all around good guy!

I was able to do the 3 day safari to Tangarire, Ngorongoro & Manyara with Uhurutrek.com the experience was amazing our guide Osmond he was excellent. I can't speak enough about that trip highly recommend them too.

I loved my whole experience no complaints, never felt unsafe or stranded, Tanzania is beautiful and the people even more so. Go find out for yourself!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: May 7, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

United Planet

For me the idea of traveling to Tanzania was like the equivalent of going to the Moon. I didn't know what I would find there or what the experience would even feel like. There was no way for me to prepare for such an exploration, no past event I could reflect on. All I knew was that I had to go because there is more than just the world that I am living in, and that was what I was dying to see.

United Planet was my support team that guided me to Tanzania and then safely back to the place where I am from. I could write millions of words about the details of my adventure but I would rather just boil it down to its essence and let you go explore the details on your own. Trust me, that is something you want to do.

In a way you could say that my trip to Africa now dictates my every move, my every thought. I went there over 5 years ago and this has never been more true then now. No matter what life offers us, we must try and experience it with joy and to exist without failing to see the power in every moment. That is what the animals, the people and the landscapes of Africa taught me.

There are other worlds than the one you know. Sometimes it is hard to step outside the one you are accustomed to but believe me, it is worth getting out of your comfort zone. United Planet is someone you can lean on for the strength you need to explore the unknown.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Apr 19, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Cross-Cultural Solutions

Cross-Cultural Solutions and their program in Tanzania is fantastic and I would recommend it for anybody looking to volunteer in Africa. In February, I returned from a three-week stay at their Kilimanjaro site and had an incredible time. It was my second trip to Tanzania with CCS, my first was in 2003, and it was great to see how the country has changed in that time, but CCS has only gotten better and more organized. The home base was beautiful and very secure, my placement was wonderful and the people I met, from the CCS staff to the volunteers to the locals, were all very warm and made me feel welcome from day one. There were some rules that were awkward for an independent 29 year old to abide by, curfew and such, but I know it was for our safety and never was a problem. I think CCS does a great job in all aspects of their program. At home I am a videographer, and while in Tanzania I donated my craft to make CCS a short video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_m_wMdf2Qg
This will give you a better idea of what the program is like.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Apr 8, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

Life in Tanzania is amazing. The place is beautiful with loads to see and do, and the people on camp are great as well. The diving and snorkelling sites in particular are incredible, as is the opportunity to swim with whale sharks. It's definitely a good place to go if you're looking to get some experience living and working on an overseas project

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Jan 22, 2013
Overall:
8
Support:
7
Value:
8

Frontier

My overall experience with frontier tanzania marine was great. The people on camp were enthusiastic and friendly making the whole experience great.

The diving on mafia island is fantastic with warm waters and plenty of fish to survey. The science training is basic but fun, catered for short term volunteers.

The island and the village the camp is situated in is another highlight of the experience. The local people are really friendly and allow us to intergrate into the village life. The island is beautiful and having taken various trips around the island and to neighbouring islands I can say I miss the paradise island I now call my home.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Jan 21, 2013
Overall:
9
Support:
7
Value:
7

Global Crossroad

our experience with global crossroads has been very good. we ended up having to take a taxi from the airport so that was overwelming at first. we were placed in an orphanage but it is hard because we dont know Swahili so helping was sometimes a struggle. i like the program because it gave you a lot of freedom to do the volunteer the way you want. we were placed in an orphanage the first week then went to the hospital to observe. the hospital was very educational and i learned a lot. Deo was a fantastic host wherever we needed him he was there all we had to do was call. He offered us assistance, advice and friendship. Deo's friend Sabi was also very nice and helped us get familiar with town and was a really good friend. Rosie and Evia were amazing housekeepers they made such good food and looked after us and made us feel safe. Once we got to the house we felt very safe because everyone we were around. We had aq great experience and will do it again. Experience of a lifetime.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Oct 28, 2012
Overall:
9
Support:
7
Value:
9

Global Crossroad

My experience in Tanzania has been a whirlwind of emotions. When I landed with my friend, we did not have anyone waiting to pick us up. We were scared and didn't know what to expect but the program packet had a "back up plan" in case of delayed travels (which we experienced). We followed these instructions which were to take a taxi to a hotel in Moshi, and we contacted Deo from there. He came and picked us up and dropped us off at the home here and Rosi and Eva greeted us warmly. The next day Sabi (Deo's helper) took us around town and we quickly learned how warm the town was. Everyone was welcoming and we had a great day learning the culture for the first time. The next day we experienced our volunteer site which was at Upendo (an orphanage) and that was very educational and emotional. The children greet you with love but you soon discover how much they need discipline (positive discipline) and education which was very challenging because of the language barrier. The other women who work there day in and day out are inspiring, loving and do their best to balance education, discipline at love. Because of this it felt like there wasn't much I could do to make a difference in the lives of these children. We can always provide love and support, as well as play with them but it was so challenging some days to get through to the children. We spent some time in the hospital and saw some very fascinating medical procedures but again, it was just observing and not assistant (which is OK for education but not necessarily fulfilling). At the house, Rosi and Eva took very good care of us, making sure we were comfortable, fed and happy. The house was great and a really great place to stay. Deo was a phenomenal influence and really lovely to be around. He has a warm sense of humor and consistently made us feel welcome and happy. He loves to learn about culture and is genuinely interested in the lives of every single volunteer. He took us around Moshi and even joined us on our safari to ensure our safety. He worries about the volunteers and expresses joy when the volunteers are safe and enjoying their experience. Sabi also helped us a lot and was a great person to be around. He is very informative and a really great man to spend time with. Collectively the time I spent in Tanzania was phenomenal. The culture was so amazing to learn about and Deo, Sabi, Rosi and Eva were the best people to have around in a new country when you feel outside of your comfort zone. Unfortunately I didn't feel fulfilled with my volunteer work but really appreciate the time regardless. I feel fortunate to have had these 2 weeks here, and in the future I would come back with more experience speaking Swahili and more tools to be able to be effective in my work.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Oct 28, 2012
Overall:
8
Support:
8
Value:
8

Global Volunteer Projects

I recently went to Tanzania on Global Crossroads program and had a woderful experiance. I arrived directly to Kilimanjaro and was taken to Moshi Hostel. It was clean and comfortable and also the hostel cooks cooked us a good meal. The project coordinator was kind and helpful and took me to the project and I went to to see a firewood factory that made firefood from saw dust.

I also gpt a chance to go on a safari and visited Lake Manyara , Ngorongoro , Serengeti and Tarangire. Serengeti was impressive in numbers of wildlife and its size. Ngorongoro had the best quality wildlife viewing out of the four parks. .

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Oct 15, 2012
Overall:
9
Support:
8
Value:
9

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Tanzania