Tanzania

Frontier

I spent a month in Tanzania on Mafia Island as part of the Marine Conservation team. Positives of the trip were the group of people I spent my time there with. Everyone was extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful around camp, and made it a thoroughly worthwhile and enjoyable experience. The diving and conservation itself was also very decent. That said, the negatives of the project did somewhat impact my time there - the lack of decent kit for diving meant that one of my weeks went without a single dive, and I was aware that many of those new to diving were struggling due to the lack of resources. The lack of support from the head office for the field projects seemed a common problem. For that reason it seemed a lot of money for something that was relatively poorly coordinated. Having said that, the staff in Tanzania in particular did all they could to rectify the problems and made up for the lack of support they were given, making it a thoroughly enjoyable experience overall. I would absolutely recommend the project to anyone interested in travelling/conservation, but would urge the company to coordinate with their field staff more effectively!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Jul 12, 2013
Overall:
8
Support:
5
Value:
6

Frontier

Staff was mostly great and very helpful, although sometimes important things such as camp duty or cleanliness were not taken too seriously. Infrastructures were good but could be better, but I guess that is due to low funds. I have had a great time and learned a lot but I still feel like I have paid too much for what I got. Training was great and Mafia Island is beautiful, however volunteers like me had too much free time during the days so I got bored regularly. The average age was between 19-20 years old and that was a bit too low for me, since the purpose of my trip here was to gain science and conservation backgrounds sometimes I had the feeling that people didnt have the same mentality as me (a few of them were more interested in going to the bar rather then taking it seriously).

Despite all the not-so-good things, it has been an overall great experience!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Jul 11, 2013
Overall:
5
Support:
4
Value:
4

Frontier

I have had an incredible time in Tanzania so far. The in country staff have been really attentive and have done everything they can to make sure that we have as good a time as we can. I was part of the terrestrial programme so that involved going out into the island everyday and conducting surveys to find out what we can about the wildlife on the island. I have immensely enjoyed this and learnt a lot. Do not expect to find 'big' animals as we are mostly dealing with birds, amphibians, small mammals, butterflies etc but they are equally just as amazing and it teaches you to appreciate everything.
I am also doing my BTEC advanced certificate as part of the programme which has been a great opportunity in which I have been able to conduct research on the Seychelles Flying Foxes on the island. The BTEC is great as one gets to come away from the project with something to say that you 'officially' know how to conduct scientific surveys (put that on your CV!) so it makes it more than just a 'volunteer holiday'.
I highly recommend it but say be prepared for very basic living and keep involved!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Jul 9, 2013
Overall:
8
Support:
8
Value:
7

Global Crossroad

Aside from the volunteer packet emailed to me after my program acceptance, I received little response via email about questions I had while preparing for my trip. The lack of communication prior to my trip made me a little uncertain about what to expect but once I landed in Tanzania everything went flawless. I could not have asked for a better trip. I always loved coming back to the house which felt like home. There was never a meal I didn't like.
Deo was extremely involved. In between organizing projects for volunteers, he spent time hanging out with us and even let the volunteers be a part of setting up new projects he was coordinating.
I was assigned to volunteer at Upendo but enjoyed the flexibility to get involved with several of the projects. I was able to make my own schedule and form personal relationships with the children at Msamaria.
Mohan was in Tanzania for part of my trip and he was great to work with. It is comforting to know someone so giving and down to earth is in charge.
I have been back from my trip for two weeks now and there hasn't been a single day I haven't missed Moshi. I strongly recommend Global Crossroad to anyone interested in Studying/Volunteering Abroad. My trip was certainly one I will never forget and it changed my life.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Jul 9, 2013
Overall:
9
Support:
8
Value:
10

Original Volunteers

I visited Tanzania for two months in September of 2012 and can honestly say it was the time of my life. I met some wonderful people and experienced some really incredible things, both through the projects and the day trips that we went out on. My highlights included working with Mote, an inspirational man running the FISCH project for street children in Iringa, and also visiting the Ipamba baby orphanage. The experiences really hit home and were very emotional but hugely rewarding! We also got to experience some real Tanzanian culture- we stayed in an African village for a week, tasted Konyagi (incredibly strong vodka esque drink!) and even tried goat. If you get a chance, you should definitely visit Mamas kitchen, located just inside the market and serving local food (ugali and beans is a must try for a taste of the culture) at very low prices! We all went out as individuals or pairs, but came home great friends and are still in touch now! It truly was an amazing experience, and I would do it all again in a heartbeat - and several of my friends already have!
Original Volunteers were very helpful in the run up to the trip, and though the project was fairly new at the time we got to experience a lot of different projects, which we could choose to visit as often as we wanted. I had a great time and for the price it was fab. We also found out that the volunteer permit purchased at the start of the trip can be used to help get discounts on things such as the ferry to Zanzibar- so win win!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Jul 1, 2013
Overall:
8
Support:
6
Value:
10

Frontier

I've very much enjoyed my time with Frontier in Tanzania, I was part of the Marine conservation and diving project. I learnt to dive here and have thoroughly enjoyed the new experience. Life on the frontier camp is entertaining, there's some fantastic people around with fantastic stories from all over the world. At times it has been frustrating due to poor organization from headquarters, there is a lack of working diving kit which makes organising all the divers on camp very difficult. I also missed a lot of diving due to there being no instructor on camp. All in all I would recommend the trip but the best part of the experience was the people on camp, the staff and my fellow volunteers have been incredible, and they've made my time very enjoyable.

Program: Gap Year
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Jun 30, 2013
Overall:
6
Support:
5
Value:
5

Global Crossroad

I had an absolutely amazing time in Tanzania and was so lucky to have gotten this experience! I learned a lot and really enjoyed being able to help others while taking in the beauty and culture of Tanzania.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: Jun 17, 2013
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
9

Frontier

I spent 4 weeks on the Tanzania Teaching programme on Mafia Island. It was the best experience of my life.
The camp is in a small town called Utende, the town is lovely and the people are so friendly. Staff on camp are some of the most greatest people I've ever met and never fail to amaze me with the passion they have for their chosen project whether that is marine, teaching or terrestrial. The camp is a basic camp. Although basic, beds are comfortable, there is plenty of food and showers are refreshing, if a little cold. Food on camp was much better than expected, not just rice and beans! Lunch is usually rice and beans but dinner is always tasty whether it is pumpkin, cabbage or mchicha, its great!
The teaching project was great, while in Tanzania I earned my 20-Hour TEFL certificate. This was done quite easily because as well as school hours there are so many people in Utende who want to learn/improve their english. Teaching at school was a great experience.
Any spare time i had, was spent tagging along with the terrestrial team on a walk or snorkelling with Team Marine, visiting surrounding islands, heading to the main town of Kilindoni or just hanging out either at camp or on the beach.
I would recommend this programme to anyone who was considering it. The island is absolutely gorgeous, the people are lovely and i am so sad to be leaving here and i know the next opportunity i get i will be back in this amazing place with Frontier.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: May 10, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Comments

Rachel, Thanks for your review, and for your efforts on the project. And congrats on your certificate!

Frontier

I had a 6 week company with frontier as a 'tanzanian adventurer' one of the best 6 weeks of my life and recommend it to anyone interested.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: May 10, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
7

Comments

Thanks for your review, it's much appreciated!

Institute for Field Research Expeditions - IFRE

I had 3 weeks at Mama Janes Orphanage AKA Jane Olevolos' Orphanage. The location is in a rural village outside of Arusha, with a 30 min walk to the local market in Ngaramtoni and a 30 min daladala ride from Ngaramtoni to Arusha downtown (and the closest internet cafe).
My experience was a very fulfilling one and I believe that I gained so much from all of the children there, there is definately a benefit to living on location with all of the kids, you get to know them personally and their characters begin to shine through after a very short time. All of the children are very well behaved and have a lot of love and respect for their Mama Jane. She is a remarkable woman with a huge heart and has the orphanage running like a well oiled machine!!!
Everyone here was extremely welcoming and made sure I had everything I needed, I did feel spoiled. If you are looking for the experience of a lifetime with some remarkable children this is definately the place to be, but just be aware it is rural. I immersed myself in their way of life and helped out in every way I could, cooking, collecting water, going to market to get food, education of the kindergarten kids 8:30-12pm tuition of the 'tweens' 4-5:30pm then playing, & interacting with all of the kids in between, oh and I learned all of the Swahili & Maasai I know from them too, they are good teachers! Loved my experience, loved the kids, loved Mama Jane highly recommend it.
On a side note the orphanage is immersed in the christian religion, I am not at all religious but was very respectful of their faith and they were OK with that, I was there for the kids that's where my heart was and that's all that mattered.

Deo was my Tanzanian co-ordinator, he is excellent gets you to the home base in Moshi from the airport, and makes sure you're setup with a phone, and volunteer permit within a day, then personally delivers you to your project and is available at all times via phone if needed, and he's just an all around good guy!

I was able to do the 3 day safari to Tangarire, Ngorongoro & Manyara with Uhurutrek.com the experience was amazing our guide Osmond he was excellent. I can't speak enough about that trip highly recommend them too.

I loved my whole experience no complaints, never felt unsafe or stranded, Tanzania is beautiful and the people even more so. Go find out for yourself!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Tanzania
Posted: May 7, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Tanzania