China

China Study Abroad

Going through CSA to study abroad in China is probably one of the best decisions you will make, if you have already decided to study abroad. I studied in Beijing for a month and traveled around several cities in China for two weeks through the program, and I can genuinely say that the entire program was excellent. The support from the staff is always readily available, and they work hard to provide an experience that is hard to gain from elsewhere. Language skills improve depending on how much the individual has put in the effort, but the Beijing Language and Culture University is known for their prestigious education system when it comes to learning Chinese as a second language. CSA provides a number of activities for the participants of the program to bond and explore the city/country, and they are one of the best parts of the program. I highly recommend studying abroad through CSA, not only to enhance your language skills, but meet amazing people and make everlasting memories.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Sep 25, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

China Study Abroad

Had a great experience with CSA! It was great that they were able to organise my course paperwork before arriving in Beijing - it really saved me a lot of time and effort! Their service ensures your stay is as stress free as possible, from their airport pick up service, providing a network of fellow students, weekend social activities,and assistance with course registration, to help buying a bike, and speedy repair should any issues arise in your CSA accommodation - they are really friendly, always happy to help, and only a phone call away! I would definitely recommend CSA if you are considering studying in China and are a little apprehensive about doing it on your own.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Aug 17, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
8

International Humanity Foundation

I am a college student from China, and I am working at Aceh Center as a work study volunteer now. I have experienced Ramadan and the following Id al-Fitr, it's a great fun. I had a great experience with students here, and also the local people, other volunteers and of course my center director. At center, I taught classes to SD2 and SD5-6(all primary school student)with another Chinese volunteer. In the beginning it's a little bit difficult because young children don't understand much English, but we still found it interesting. These children are cute! Besides, we also do cleaning and other tasks, like recruitment, creating posters and flashcards. All in all, great to volunteer in Banda Aceh.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Aug 11, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
9
Value:
8

CAPA International Education

I have nothing but praises for the CAPA International Education program and especially Rachelle Douillard-Proulx and Colin Speakman. As an admittedly over-protective mother, I was very concerned about the safety of my daughter and going to Beijing to study abroad. CAPA could not have been more responsive and helpful in providing information to allay my fears and concerns. While there, my daughter enjoyed learning about the Chinese culture, going to school, and doing an internship with a local business. Lastly, I can’t say enough about how Rachelle and Colin went above and beyond in assisting us in celebrating my daughter’s 21st birthday while in China. I could not have asked for a more personalized, safe, overall amazing experience, for all of us, especially my daughter Jennie. Thank you CAPA!

Program: Study Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Jul 25, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

The Intern Group

Within this review you will find out about the horrible experience I had with The Intern Group during my summer internship in 2014. This company used deceptive marketing to lure in interns & did not deliver on their promises. The directors of this program were not responsive when I dealt with severe issues with my accommodations during my 2-month stay in Hong Kong. After speaking with several other unhappy interns on this same program, I feel that a warning is in order for future interns considering The Intern Group for their internship abroad program.

For a brief background, I am an honors student at Georgia State University in the US, majoring in accounting in finance. After meeting with my university about several different options, I decided to go with the internship abroad, due to it being my junior year, which is the prime time to gain internship experience before graduating next year. I did extensive research comparing the cost & experience of each company around the world. I started to realize that many of the internship companies I researched did not include group excursions, and those that did were very expensive. Then I stumbled upon The Intern Group, a “reasonably” priced company that facilitated internships in several countries around the world AND included excursions. Sounded perfect! However, the experience I got was absolutely horrifying and ended with me throwing away all of my belongings upon returning to the states.

To begin my review I will start with the most relevant piece of information regarding the “top-quality” internships that the Intern Group provides. During my time in Hong Kong, I got to know several other interns on the program. After speaking to everyone about his or her internship, I found that everyone seemed to feel unchallenged, unhappy, and taken advantage of. In my personal situation, I had asked the Intern Group to provide me with a large financial company, preferably with a presence in the United States. What I received was position in a start-up insurance brokerage that only had 2 employees. I gave them 6 months to facilitate this internship….

The Intern Group claims to have several connections around the world with top companies in various fields. However, I didn’t come across a single intern on my program that was with a reputable company. Near the end of my stay in Hong Kong, I asked my employer about how the Intern Group approached him about taking me on as an intern. He told me that the director, Krystal Lee, met with him and simply asked, “Do you want a free intern this summer?” . Wow, I could’ve done that. A huge portion of the Intern Group’s program fee is the internship facilitation & the accomodations. However, for the upcharge I spent on the “facilitation of the internship”, I could’ve stayed in luxury hotel for the entire two months with free breakfast!

Now I will discuss the bed bugs; a problem that not only greatly affected me, but also affected everyone in my life back home. During my research stage, I found several photos on the Intern Group website displaying western accommodations; double beds, a huge kitchen, and modern appliances. The website has since been changed due to Upon arrival in Hong Kong, I walked into the apartment they chose for me and was shocked. The building looked and smelled approximately 100 years old, one of the rooms had bunk beds, and the entire apartment was approximately 400 square feet. I didn’t complain, however, and stayed in the flat for about 5 weeks. For these few weeks I was getting severe bites all over my body; my ankles, shoulders and arms! Some of the bites are still on my body and look like they are going to scar. Since I have never dealt with bed bugs, I attributed the bites to mosquitoes, thinking they must’ve gotten into the flat through the bathroom fan (which was exposed to outside and unable to be closed). However, when I started noticing black & yellow debris all over my bed, I started to get worried. I started googling, and immediately found out that I was dealing with bed bugs. I did thorough research into bedbugs to find out the severity of the issue I was dealing with. The results were unsettling. I searched my bed and found several casings of bed bugs and was completely disgusted. I found that bed bugs were treated in several methods, but the most effective was through hiring a professional fumigation company, then a cleaning service to remove any eggs that weren’t killed during fumigation. I read terrible reviews online about people that used cheap bug bombs or mattress protectors, and found that these methods almost always resulted in the issue persisting for several months. I relayed my research to the Hong Kong director, Krystal Lee, and the manager of directors for the Intern Group, Andrew Prachuablarb. I laid out exactly what I expected from the company in terms of dealing with the situation effectively, I did spend $7000 for this program, after all.

They responded by telling me I had to wait until the morning to be moved to a temporary flat and that they would “take care” of the issue. After the first night in the temporary flat, they emailed me saying they had taken care of the bed bugs using a cheap bug bomb and the company refused to clean the apartment, even the mattress!!!! Based on my previous research, I refused to re-enter the apartment until it had been properly fumigated/cleaned. Again, they refused to live up to this standard. They decided to move us into a different flat, and told my roommate and I to collect our belongings form the infested flat. While this sounds like they did a great thing, since the fumigation company didn’t treat our belongings, we were simply moving the unhatched eggs to the new flat!! Sure enough, I started finding bed bugs left and right in the new apartment and they schedule ed a “consultation” with a fumigation company. They treated me as if I was over-reacting to the situation, even though I had bites on my body to prove I was being bit. They told me I had to find a bed bug upon command, like they were just conveniently sitting around for me to find. After finding out that it was 20,000 HKD for treatment, they decided to take the cheap way out and give me a heat machine that I could treat my belongings in cycles. However, a mattress can’t fit into a heat machine….I can’t put the cracks and baseboards where bedbugs linger into the heat machine. It was a temporary fix to shut me up for the remaining few weeks of my stay. Not to mention, I found out that they moved new interns into the old flat with bed bugs the week after I left! I quickly warned them of the situation. The day I was leaving, I woke up to two adult bed bugs crawling towards me right when I woke up. The experience was absolutely revolting.

Upon my departure to return home, I had to throw away all of the clothes I had with me to ensure I didn’t bring the bugs back home. My parents back home were sick with worry and laid out a detailed plan to prevent me bringing the bugs, which involved, throwing away my suitcases at the airport, staying in a hotel, and doing a lengthy RID treatment through my hair to ensure I didn’t have eggs near the roots. This not only caused a financial burden on my family, but also gave them emotional distress when I returned home.

While communication was a huge issue, the program itself also had several flaws. The excursions that were promised on the website conveniently changed upon my arrival to three, rather than the four that I paid for. “Dinner with a View at Victoria’s Peak” turned into just a dinner, since they chose such a foggy night to take us up there. I felt like I was utterly trapped for two months with no way out and the responses I received were always questioning and unhelpful. The practices of the Intern Group during this ordeal were extremely unpleasant. Each time I tried to contact one the THREE employees in Hong Kong I was left either ignored or dissatisfied. After I left, I informed the interns that were moving straight into my infested flat about the bed bug situation. I found out that one week later, the intern group sent out a message saying that the bugs were determined to be cockroaches brought in from the US. Trying to blame ME for the infestation.

I have never dealt with a such an unprofessional company. Buyer Beware & Good Luck.

Program:
Location: China
Posted: Jul 20, 2014
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Comments

This is The Intern Group replying officially. We are deeply saddened by your review - it is simply not an accurate representation of our program. We have had a busy, successful summer so far in Hong Kong and our interns have typically left our city having had an incredible experience of a lifetime. We recommend others read our response here where we clarify various incorrect statements made. In regards to the alleged slow response time from our staff - we have a strict rule in Hong Kong of 48 hours (2 working days) and having reviewed all correspondence with you our team did not fail once to meet this commitment. We also have an emergency number that we answer 24/7 - and where you were answered every time. You wrote that your internship took 6 months to organize. It took 2.5 months. We received your program confirmation on December 31st and a role with a great company was successfully offered on March 14th - 8 weeks before your start date - not the 4 that you cite. We partner with companies of all sizes - large, medium and small. We provided you with a fantastic opportunity with a small and rapidly growing financial brokerage and consultancy firm. When we presented you with this opportunity you were extremely excited about it. At the end of your internship you actually wrote a long thank you letter to the company about how good the experience had been and how much you had gained from it. However, even this has been omitted here. All of the companies that we work with are taken through a formal, established vetting process where we talk in detail about their business and how international interns could compliment their work. When we decide to work with a company, it is not a decision we take lightly. Our main aim is to provide an excellent service to all participants. We want our interns to learn as much as possible during their program as we truly believe that cultural immersion and professional development are invaluable experiences that can help students kick start their careers. Sadly, in this case, conversations with managers have been selectively twisted to fit an anti-program narrative. In regards to accommodation, apartments in Hong Kong are smaller than the norm in Western countries, and applicants are made fully aware of this. All our accommodation is of a very good standard and your specific apartment - 400 sq feet in size - is of an extremely generous size for Hong Kong standards. All accommodation is equipped with all of the appliances needed to have a pleasant and comfortable stay. Regarding the main issue behind all this - that of the alleged bedbugs - numerous details have been completely fabricated. Firstly we employed highly professional pest control agencies that thoroughly searched your apartment as soon as you made your complaint - they were unable to identify any problems at all. This service was called in twice to be 100% sure. They did a thorough search of all floors /linens / cupboards etc but could not find any bed bugs at all. Pest control agencies in Hong Kong only ever begin treatment once a bug has been found, and if there were any bed bugs in the apartment they most definitely would have been found. Despite this, we moved you to a brand new apartment the very next morning. Secondly, since this incident, and after another check, we have had a number of interns staying in this original apartment (and the one you moved to) - and the feedback has been excellent. There have been no complaints or signs of bed bugs in either. The conclusion is clear - there were never any bed bugs whatsoever. What has not been mentioned in your review is that our organization bought you new clothes, paid for your dry cleaning bills etc as good will gestures - even though no evidence was ever found by the professionals at all. Lastly, we would like to address the point made about the excursions we provide. Of course excursion calendars change - we want all participants to experience the best of Hong Kong (and Macau where you stayed in the luxury Sheraton hotel) - and this varies depending on the particular time of year. But all excursions we provided added up to exactly the same value and overall impact - in no way did you lose out, financially or culturally. We work extremely hard to ensure that the social aspect of our program is highly enjoyable. Finally, Dinner at the Peak disappointed you due to the view - you must surely understand that weather conditions are out of our control! This review is simply not an accurate representation of our program experience - we are extremely proud of our program and encourage anyone reading this to review the numerous positive reviews above and below this one.

Go Abroad China (GAC) ***Warning Fake Reviews***

First off, it was definitely a great experience. The company I worked for was great, the work I did was fun.My colleague are very nice people and we get along well. They don't speak much English but my Chinese is decent enough to get simple ideas across. The GAC Beijing Coordinators are both excellent at their jobs. They are available practically 24/7 throught your entire stay to help you with anything that might come up, and also to assist you in navigating the treacherous enigma that is life in Beijing. I personally stayed in a private appartment, I live 2 min away from the bus stop to my office so it's very convenient. It takes me 40-50min to get to work. I also opted to take language training classes. My teacher is extremely friendly and a wonderful teacher. Our sessions were everyday after work and we would generally go somewhere for each lesson. The lessons were very informal, generally me honing my Chinese through conversation and picking up new vocabulary and such as we visited varius places in Beijing. Also, I had a year of begining Chinese in college prior to my first GAC trip, so I was somewhat preperared, although I had failed to review all summer and thus had forgoten alot of vocab by the time I arrived. By simply living in Beijing your Chinese conversation skills and confidence will improve dramatically, just by virtue of interaction with people on a day to day basis. My trip was one of the greatest experiences I have ever had, and I wholeheartedly recommend this program.

Program: Gap Year
Location: China
Posted: Jun 25, 2014
Overall:
8
Support:
7
Value:
8

Go Abroad China (GAC) ***Warning Fake Reviews***

+++ WARNING - FAKE REVIEW +++ THE FOLLOWING REVIEW HAS BEEN DEEMED A FAKE AND RATINGS MOVED TO ZERO. IT HAS BEEN BELIEVED TO HAVE BEEN CREATED BY A FAKE USER THAT DID NOT SATISFY ABROADREVIEWS ENQUIRIES +++ It was a great experience. I am really satisfied with my study university—Beijing Language and Culture University. Not to mention the study environment, the class group was small enough in order to be productive. The teacher used modern and efficient methods of learning. The school also has a good reputation for teaching Chinese to foreigners. Besides, I was arranged in an excellent host family. I lived in a large rooms and the Chinese food is quite good. Oh, don’t forget the after class activities which helped me make a lot of Chinese friends.
Anyway, all of these are credited to Go Abroad China. They did a lot of favor to me. I really would like to thank for them.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Mar 7, 2014
Overall:
0
Support:
0
Value:
0

Go Abroad China (GAC) ***Warning Fake Reviews***

+++ WARNING - FAKE REVIEW +++ THE FOLLOWING REVIEW HAS BEEN DEEMED A FAKE AND RATINGS MOVED TO ZERO. IT HAS BEEN BELIEVED TO HAVE BEEN CREATED BY A FAKE USER THAT DID NOT SATISFY ABROADREVIEWS ENQUIRIES +++ It was a great experience. I am really satisfied with my study university—Beijing Language and Culture University. Not to mention the study environment, the class group was small enough in order to be productive. The teacher used modern and efficient methods of learning. The school also has a good reputation for teaching Chinese to foreigners. Besides, I was arranged in an excellent host family. I lived in a large rooms and the Chinese food is quite good. Oh, don’t forget the after class activities which helped me make a lot of Chinese friends.
Anyway, all of these are credited to Go Abroad China. They did a lot of favor to me. I really would like to thank for them.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Mar 6, 2014
Overall:
0
Support:
0
Value:
0

Go Abroad China (GAC) ***Warning Fake Reviews***

+++ WARNING - FAKE REVIEW +++ THE FOLLOWING REVIEW HAS BEEN DEEMED A FAKE AND RATINGS MOVED TO ZERO. IT HAS BEEN BELIEVED TO HAVE BEEN CREATED BY A FAKE USER THAT DID NOT SATISFY ABROADREVIEWS ENQUIRIES +++ I initially discovered Go Abroad China simply because they were one of the few overseas agencies to offer an internship program in my discipline. After browsing their website for an hour or so it became apparent to me that Go Abroad China was an extremely professional organization that has a clear understanding of student needs. Then I proceeded to contact a representative of the company. All of my questions were promptly answered, and the process for applying for the internship program was clearly explained.
A number of things contributed to making my internship such a fantastic experience. First of all, as I chose the home stay option, I was living with a Chinese family in a typical Beijing apartment. The family was very kind and provided assistance to me where they could. Secondly, the internship position itself and the company I worked for were excellent. For the first time since starting my studies I was able to get real-world, hands-on experience applying my knowledge, and I got to learn a lot of new stuff along the way. Thirdly, the other employees at my work were great people who really enriched my experience. I worked in an IT company to assist in Marketing campaigns from event organization through to PR, digital marketing and corporate hospitality. I learned lots of things that I never know in the school from this company. It is really a precious experience for me. I will never forget this experience.

Program: Gap Year
Location: China
Posted: Mar 5, 2014
Overall:
0
Support:
0
Value:
0

Go Abroad China (GAC) ***Warning Fake Reviews***

+++ WARNING - FAKE REVIEW +++ THE FOLLOWING REVIEW HAS BEEN DEEMED A FAKE AND RATINGS MOVED TO ZERO. IT HAS BEEN BELIEVED TO HAVE BEEN CREATED BY A FAKE USER THAT DID NOT SATISFY ABROADREVIEWS ENQUIRIES +++ I had never imagined my dream may come true one day. Going to China to study Chinese was a goal of mine since I was about 7 when I saw it in a movie. And now my wish is realized. Before my travelling, I did a lot of research and then Go Abroad China came to my final decision. After I contact them, they made the research, preparation, transition, and experience abroad easy and smooth. They provided all of the necessary details and logistics of going to a different country, as well as a great network of support all throughout the process. I was especially happy with the transition that Go Abroad China provided.
After arriving at one of the fastest developing country, I was really excited to see the beauty of the country. Before the registration, Go Abroad China team provided information about my study university. I really appreciate their help.
I created a short video of the beginning of my adventures in China, which will give me forever memory I ever had.
Anyway I had a very wonderful life in China. This experience makes me know better of Chinese culture and my Chinese speaking is improved significantly. Thus I created a short video of my adventures in China, which will give me forever memory I ever had.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Mar 4, 2014
Overall:
0
Support:
0
Value:
0

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - China