China

Gi2C China Internship

Gi2c is an expensive fraud that also now operates under 4 other names (alias operations) that include WiseWay Global Education, Laowai Career Center, and Getin2China and according to China's Tax Bureau and Busines License Agency (SAIC) non of them are legally registered to do business in China except Getin2China which they said was shut down by the police in 2014 for "visa fraud".

I only lost a $300 deposit because I learned about the scam early when I noticed that my "career counselor" Mary (who speaks fluent English) also worked as a "consultant" in the other-other 4 alias companies and she denied it when I asked here about it even after I played her voice that I recorded when I called the other numbers and asked for her. (There is a shared office on Zhongguancun Street in Haidian District of Beijing).

I eventually found my own job in China and no longer needed an internship. So when I got to China I went to get my $300 "refundable deposit" back at the above address which the police strangely know about. I met two other victims of Gi2c who said no to Gi2c but "yes" to Laowai Career Center (not knowing they were the same scam wearing different clothes).

Both of them and myself were threatened by the Russiam owner that if we made any problems for him after he return our money, he would get expelled from China because he had "connections with the cops". This may be true because when I went to the they already knew about this company and even referred to "Yuri" and then one of the young woman police officers followed me outside when I left and handed me this link written on a piece of paper and said "Wai guo ren Yuri fei chang bu hao ma fan" (Translation: This foreigner Yuri is bad trouble). Anyway, here is the link she gave me https://www.scam.com/entry.php?6418-Beware-of-China-s-many-Legal-Scams-l....

I found out one of the other victims got a full refund because they threatened to bring a CCTV news reporter to Yuri's office. So I did the same thing and he paid me 2,000 rmb within 15 minutes but demanded that I sign a paper saying I had no problems with Gi2c and Laowai Career Center. I scribbled what he thought was my signature to get the money i my hands. What I wrote was "You R Afraud". This morning my colleague showed me this link, and it motivated me to make this review to help warn others. http://www.opnlttr.com/letter/laowai-career-center-189-other-black-scam-...

BTW... there is a man in his office named Stefan who is one of his employees that writes fake blogs under the name of "Stephanie" and he was arguing with Yuri that he was cheated on his pay by 3,000 and he was threatening to quit and "blog the truth to everyone". When he saw that I was trying to video the argument with my phone he blew a fuse and slammed the door. I guess this guy cheats a lot of people - even his own employees.

Program: TEFL
Location: China
Posted: Apr 12, 2017
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Frontier

I arrived in the country early so had a few days to relax before I met up with the others on the Panda project. We spent a couple of days with the interpreter who took us around and showed us the wilderness and the mountains. For me the experience of being on a project in a group and with the young people was much better than what I thought it would be, the project was very well run and there were lots of activities available to do in the evening if you chose to.

For me the most enjoyable part of the project was being with the pandas feeding them preparing the food and cleaning their area. The project is not only for youngsters there is no age limit and no matter what age you are the volunteers and staff really do make you feel welcome and take you into the group.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Apr 7, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Gi2C China Internship

Gi2c is a verified scam operation that operates under 4 different names that I can find (maybe there are more?). Gi2c, Getin2China, WiseWay Global, and Laowai Career Center. A Russian named Yuri is the owner of all these companies that he runs with a former Russian prostitute girlfriend, that has reformed herself from one crime to another - fraud. At least in her former crime the customer got some satisfaction.

There are many China internship scam companies that want to charge you a fee to work illegally in China, either without a Z visa, or asking you to use a fake university degree or to lie on your visa application. Here are the red flags and confirmations you need to read to understand just how risky going to China illegally can be:

http://opnlttr.com/letter/laowai-career-center-189-other-black-scam-agen...

https://scam.com/entry.php?6435-China-Internship-Reviews-Chinese-Fortune...!

http://opnlttr.com/letter/china-visa-police-using-clever-sting-fake-job-...

http://antifraudintl.org/threads/china-internship-visa-scams.96692/

http://china-briefing.com/news/2015/01/14/employing-foreign-nationals-ch...

Gi2c like other black China companies operate in the gray area of the law and when they have "problems" they merely bribe the officials to look the other way. They also make their interns break the law by lying on their visa applications. Not cool.

Program: Gap Year
Location: China
Posted: Mar 23, 2017
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Gi2C China Internship

SCAM ALERT!

Beware people! Gi2C is a sophisticated and believable fraud that is blacklisted all over the internet if you look past pages 5-7 since the Gi2C webmaster Steve, filled the first 4 pages with their propaganda fake testimonials to push down all the complaints since most web visitors do not look past page 2 of search results.

Most of the positive comments you see in this thread were placed by Gi2c employees and paid shills. How do I know this? Read these two links and you will also know it is true. Prepare to be angry:

https://eslwatch.info/en/forum/china/117-fraud-warning-gi2c-and-other-ch...

https://eslwatch.info/en/forum/china/117-fraud-warning-gi2c-and-other-ch...

I also found these complaints which are similar to my own experience with this group of liars.

http://www.scamorg.com/gi2c-org-38

https://www.scam.com/showthread.php?685296-Fraud-Alert!-Gi2C-is-super-sl...!

https://www.scamguard.com/gi2corg/

Uni students and recent grads are their primary target. Be warned that they operate under various alias names and websites including Getin2China, Laowai Career Center, Gi2c, WiseWay Global, and China Job Express.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Mar 16, 2017
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Gi2C China Internship

Very misleading sales people actually advised me to lie on my visa application because they were not authorized to sponsor my visit on the mandatory Z visa required by law. They claimed that they worked with the top 100 universities in America,and Canada, and the U.K. which they called partners, yet none of the 20 universities I called in America ever heard of them.

When I asked the sales girl "Mary" how many interns did they place with Fortune 500 companies last year she replied "dozens". But when I asked her to list just 10 Fortune 500 Companies they worked with in China she changed the subject. When I asked her again, she said she had a bad connection and then hung up on me.

I finally made it to China on my own after getting my own internship directly from KPMG. After arriving in China I met up with three Gi2c interns including a French girl named Maliko and they were all angry with the internships Gi2c obtained for them and two of them were demanding refunds.

We then found this and many more links about them on the internet. They surely are a fraud to be avoided at all costs: https://chinascampatrol.wordpress.com/2015/04/25/is-gi2c-china-internshi...

I also learned that the Russian owner Yuri has a ten year history of running scams in China that target foreigners. Here are the details of all of his scams; https://www.scam.com/showthread.php?704467-UPDATED-China-Liars-List-ESL-...

Program: Gap Year
Location: China
Posted: Mar 6, 2017
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

The Intern Group

I have done the program for 3 months in Hong Kong, and I would definitely recommend it. Even though I only know the team in Hong Kong I can tell that the Inter Group as a whole is well-dedicated team, which will always try give you the best solution whenever you need. Also, the experience to work abroad is very valuable in many ways, to learn other cultures, to meet new people, to gain work experience , to have fun and enjoy living abroad, etc. As I said before, I took the 3-months program and after that I decided to stay living in Hong Kong at least for 1 year after all experience gained with the Intern Group,so again, I would recommend 100% to live this experience before its too late. ABSOLUTELY WORTH IT!

Program: Gap Year
Location: China
Posted: Dec 19, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

InterExchange

I have done the program for 3 months in Hong Kong, and I would definitely recommend it. Even though I only know the team in Hong Kong I can tell that the Inter Group as a whole is well-dedicated team, which will always try give you the best solution whenever you need. Also, the experience to work abroad is very valuable in many ways, to learn other cultures, to meet new people, to gain work experience , to have fun and enjoy living abroad, etc. As I said before, I took the 3-months program and after that I decided to stay living in Hong Kong at least for 1 year after all experience gained with the Intern Group,so again, I would recommend 100% to live this experience before its too late.

Program: Gap Year
Location: China
Posted: Dec 19, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

RCDP Nepal

It is good. The kids are cute

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: China, Nepal
Posted: Dec 2, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Abroad China

I am currently undertaking an internship in China which I applied for through a company called 'Nexusglobe' in the UK. Little did I know that my whole program was a complete scam until I recently discovered some further information during the internship.

Similar to many agencies in the UK that run this program, Nexusglobe outsource their operation to a company called 'Go Abroad China (GAC)' who run the scam and control the internship upon arrival in China. Unfortunately I was not informed by Nexusglobe about this company before arriving in China. Had I known about GAC prior to my arrival I would not have moved forward with the program.

In terms of the scam, the agencies in the UK charge a excessively large fee for the program and promise you a very professional service. However, my findings have confirmed the actual cost of the program is 5 times less than the amount being charged for a service that is quite simply pathetic. Having discovered these costs and relayed them to both companies, GAC and Nexusglobe, they continuously fail to answer to where the rest of the money is going. I understand that a service can have a fee but the fees being charged here are unjustified.

Not only is the fee being charged absolutely ridiculous but there are many other factors that are particularly shocking.
For example, as part of the 'visa assistance' service interns are all given the same documents to submit to the visa centre. These documents do not represent truthful information and are merely for visa purposes. In my own experience I also received email instruction from nexusglobe advising me not to mention my work placement to the visa centre. Prior to submission of the documents I raised my concerns to them about this email, however they advised me the work visa was very complicated to obtain and assured me this was normal formality.

Furthermore, whilst in the UK, I also received a job specification for the placement from Nexusglobe which appeared relevant to my area of expertise. Much to my surprise, this job specification was nothing close to role and was evidently used to lure me into accepting the offer. The actual work placement did not consist of any work and was a total waste of my time. As GAC could not find me a more adequate placement quickly enough I ended up spending 2 months twiddling my thumbs at this company. Again, this was not a sufficient reflection of the extortionate fee I had paid.

If this wasn't all, there is also the breach of data protection which has occurred with Nexusglobe providing GAC a copy of my passport. Unfortunately GAC failed to keep my passport confidential and instead posted it across a social media app called 'Wechat' as a means of looking for accomodation/placements. To my dismay, my passport copy could be viewed by anyone with access to the app, even those looking to commit identity fraud. It is a shame I only found this out upon using the application and being informed by other interns.

Even after confronting both companies about my findings I have not seen any drastic changes and they continue to provide the same excuses and poor service. Most recently, I was informed I would have to leave my accomodation, though to my knowledge everything had been properly arranged before I arrived in China. GAC found me another accomodation in a panic but as expected they were not contributing any of my fee towards this. As a result I refused to stay at this accomodation and have requested a refund unless they are prepared to use my program fee correctly.

All in all, I am absolutely outraged by the level of service provided and would like to see some action taken towards ensuring these companies do not manipulate future interns in this way. I am speaking on behalf of many other interns who also share the same opinion.

Program:
Location: China
Posted: Nov 17, 2016
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Go Abroad China (GAC) ***Warning Fake Reviews***

I am currently undertaking an internship in China which I applied for through a company called 'Nexusglobe' in the UK. Little did I know that my whole program was a complete scam until I recently discovered some further information during the internship.

Similar to many agencies in the UK that run this program, Nexusglobe outsource their operation to a company called 'Go Abroad China (GAC)' who run the scam and control the internship upon arrival in China. Unfortunately I was not informed by Nexusglobe about this company before arriving in China. Had I known about GAC prior to my arrival I would not have moved forward with the program.

In terms of the scam, the agencies in the UK charge a excessively large fee for the program and promise you a very professional service. However, my findings have confirmed the actual cost of the program is 5 times less than the amount being charged for a service that is quite simply pathetic. Having discovered these costs and relayed them to both companies, GAC and Nexusglobe, they continuously fail to answer to where the rest of the money is going. I understand that a service can have a fee but the fees being charged here are unjustified.

Not only is the fee being charged absolutely ridiculous but there are many other factors that are particularly shocking.
For example, as part of the 'visa assistance' service interns are all given the same documents to submit to the visa centre. These documents do not represent truthful information and are merely for visa purposes. In my own experience I also received email instruction from nexusglobe advising me not to mention my work placement to the visa centre. Prior to submission of the documents I raised my concerns to them about this email, however they advised me the work visa was very complicated to obtain and assured me this was normal formality.

Furthermore, whilst in the UK, I also received a job specification for the placement from Nexusglobe which appeared relevant to my area of expertise. Much to my surprise, this job specification was nothing close to role and was evidently used to lure me into accepting the offer. The actual work placement did not consist of any work and was a total waste of my time. As GAC could not find me a more adequate placement quickly enough I ended up spending 2 months twiddling my thumbs at this company. Again, this was not a sufficient reflection of the extortionate fee I had paid.

If this wasn't all, there is also the breach of data protection which has occurred with Nexusglobe providing GAC a copy of my passport. Unfortunately GAC failed to keep my passport confidential and instead posted it across a social media app called 'Wechat' as a means of looking for accomodation/placements. To my dismay, my passport copy could be viewed by anyone with access to the app, even those looking to commit identity fraud. It is a shame I only found this out upon using the application and being informed by other interns.

Even after confronting both companies about my findings I have not seen any drastic changes and they continue to provide the same excuses and poor service. Most recently, I was informed I would have to leave my accomodation, though to my knowledge everything had been properly arranged before I arrived in China. GAC found me another accomodation in a panic but as expected they were not contributing any of my fee towards this. As a result I refused to stay at this accomodation and have requested a refund unless they are prepared to use my program fee correctly.

All in all, I am absolutely outraged by the level of service provided and would like to see some action taken towards ensuring these companies do not manipulate future interns in this way. I am speaking on behalf of many other interns who also share the same opinion.

Program:
Location: China
Posted: Nov 17, 2016
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - China