China

RCDP Nepal

It is good. The kids are cute

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: China, Nepal
Posted: Dec 2, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Abroad China

I am currently undertaking an internship in China which I applied for through a company called 'Nexusglobe' in the UK. Little did I know that my whole program was a complete scam until I recently discovered some further information during the internship.

Similar to many agencies in the UK that run this program, Nexusglobe outsource their operation to a company called 'Go Abroad China (GAC)' who run the scam and control the internship upon arrival in China. Unfortunately I was not informed by Nexusglobe about this company before arriving in China. Had I known about GAC prior to my arrival I would not have moved forward with the program.

In terms of the scam, the agencies in the UK charge a excessively large fee for the program and promise you a very professional service. However, my findings have confirmed the actual cost of the program is 5 times less than the amount being charged for a service that is quite simply pathetic. Having discovered these costs and relayed them to both companies, GAC and Nexusglobe, they continuously fail to answer to where the rest of the money is going. I understand that a service can have a fee but the fees being charged here are unjustified.

Not only is the fee being charged absolutely ridiculous but there are many other factors that are particularly shocking.
For example, as part of the 'visa assistance' service interns are all given the same documents to submit to the visa centre. These documents do not represent truthful information and are merely for visa purposes. In my own experience I also received email instruction from nexusglobe advising me not to mention my work placement to the visa centre. Prior to submission of the documents I raised my concerns to them about this email, however they advised me the work visa was very complicated to obtain and assured me this was normal formality.

Furthermore, whilst in the UK, I also received a job specification for the placement from Nexusglobe which appeared relevant to my area of expertise. Much to my surprise, this job specification was nothing close to role and was evidently used to lure me into accepting the offer. The actual work placement did not consist of any work and was a total waste of my time. As GAC could not find me a more adequate placement quickly enough I ended up spending 2 months twiddling my thumbs at this company. Again, this was not a sufficient reflection of the extortionate fee I had paid.

If this wasn't all, there is also the breach of data protection which has occurred with Nexusglobe providing GAC a copy of my passport. Unfortunately GAC failed to keep my passport confidential and instead posted it across a social media app called 'Wechat' as a means of looking for accomodation/placements. To my dismay, my passport copy could be viewed by anyone with access to the app, even those looking to commit identity fraud. It is a shame I only found this out upon using the application and being informed by other interns.

Even after confronting both companies about my findings I have not seen any drastic changes and they continue to provide the same excuses and poor service. Most recently, I was informed I would have to leave my accomodation, though to my knowledge everything had been properly arranged before I arrived in China. GAC found me another accomodation in a panic but as expected they were not contributing any of my fee towards this. As a result I refused to stay at this accomodation and have requested a refund unless they are prepared to use my program fee correctly.

All in all, I am absolutely outraged by the level of service provided and would like to see some action taken towards ensuring these companies do not manipulate future interns in this way. I am speaking on behalf of many other interns who also share the same opinion.

Program:
Location: China
Posted: Nov 17, 2016
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Go Abroad China (GAC) ***Warning Fake Reviews***

I am currently undertaking an internship in China which I applied for through a company called 'Nexusglobe' in the UK. Little did I know that my whole program was a complete scam until I recently discovered some further information during the internship.

Similar to many agencies in the UK that run this program, Nexusglobe outsource their operation to a company called 'Go Abroad China (GAC)' who run the scam and control the internship upon arrival in China. Unfortunately I was not informed by Nexusglobe about this company before arriving in China. Had I known about GAC prior to my arrival I would not have moved forward with the program.

In terms of the scam, the agencies in the UK charge a excessively large fee for the program and promise you a very professional service. However, my findings have confirmed the actual cost of the program is 5 times less than the amount being charged for a service that is quite simply pathetic. Having discovered these costs and relayed them to both companies, GAC and Nexusglobe, they continuously fail to answer to where the rest of the money is going. I understand that a service can have a fee but the fees being charged here are unjustified.

Not only is the fee being charged absolutely ridiculous but there are many other factors that are particularly shocking.
For example, as part of the 'visa assistance' service interns are all given the same documents to submit to the visa centre. These documents do not represent truthful information and are merely for visa purposes. In my own experience I also received email instruction from nexusglobe advising me not to mention my work placement to the visa centre. Prior to submission of the documents I raised my concerns to them about this email, however they advised me the work visa was very complicated to obtain and assured me this was normal formality.

Furthermore, whilst in the UK, I also received a job specification for the placement from Nexusglobe which appeared relevant to my area of expertise. Much to my surprise, this job specification was nothing close to role and was evidently used to lure me into accepting the offer. The actual work placement did not consist of any work and was a total waste of my time. As GAC could not find me a more adequate placement quickly enough I ended up spending 2 months twiddling my thumbs at this company. Again, this was not a sufficient reflection of the extortionate fee I had paid.

If this wasn't all, there is also the breach of data protection which has occurred with Nexusglobe providing GAC a copy of my passport. Unfortunately GAC failed to keep my passport confidential and instead posted it across a social media app called 'Wechat' as a means of looking for accomodation/placements. To my dismay, my passport copy could be viewed by anyone with access to the app, even those looking to commit identity fraud. It is a shame I only found this out upon using the application and being informed by other interns.

Even after confronting both companies about my findings I have not seen any drastic changes and they continue to provide the same excuses and poor service. Most recently, I was informed I would have to leave my accomodation, though to my knowledge everything had been properly arranged before I arrived in China. GAC found me another accomodation in a panic but as expected they were not contributing any of my fee towards this. As a result I refused to stay at this accomodation and have requested a refund unless they are prepared to use my program fee correctly.

All in all, I am absolutely outraged by the level of service provided and would like to see some action taken towards ensuring these companies do not manipulate future interns in this way. I am speaking on behalf of many other interns who also share the same opinion.

Program:
Location: China
Posted: Nov 17, 2016
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Go Abroad China (GAC) ***Warning Fake Reviews***

I went to Beijing to do a Business internship, which I applied via Go Abroad China (GAC). My experience was fairly positive. The internship itself was alright, it was in an import-export company. My advise for anyone thinking about interning in Chins is to focus on the job roles, from my experience, it is very important to clear that right from the start. I was only in Beijing for a month, which just a short internship but I also had to keep in mind my small budget, but I must say GAC really tried to fit me. It was a good plan to arrange an internship together with accommodation, personally those two points were the most important ones. As for accommodation, try not to expect anything luxurious not unless you are willing to pay for it, plus Chinese apartments are a bit small actually. Good luck!

Program: Gap Year
Location: China
Posted: Nov 13, 2016
Overall:
8
Support:
8
Value:
8

Abroad China

My name is Daniela Falla and I’m g 21 years old, coming from Colombia to china for a whole year with Go Abroad China. I’ve studied tourism and hospitality management and I am in China doing my college practices so after China I’ll be going back home and graduate from college.
My Chinese skills are very limited however I speak fluent English, español which is Spanish and my mother language, Deutsch (german) and un peu francais which is a little bit of French so I think it may be fun to learn chinese and of course a challenge because is a though language but I’m sure it will be a plus for my life and my carrier.
I live in Wuxi, it lies on the southern border of Jiangsu province, the only thing that I have to say is that Wuxi is just amazing, nice people, locals are super friendly with foreigners, the environment is so nice, lots of parks, the Chinese architecture here is incredible. This city is also called the “little Shanghai”, for its prosperous economy, Wuxi became one of the China’s top 50 cities with the broad strength so now you know why it is called “little shanghai”. There are so many things to do and so many hidden spots you can find, you will never get bored here and if you do (I doubt it) you can just take a train to go to Shanghai, it takes only 40 min to get there and the tickets are 59 RMB which is around 8 dollars), also there is a city between Wuxi and Shanghai that is called Suzhou is beautiful also, in this area are so many cities you can go without spending lots of money.
Let’s talk about a little bit more about my job here, the company I’m working for is the Millenium Hotel, this is a 5 star Hotel, Millenium & Copthorne hotels owns and operates more than 120 hotels in 19 countries, they are located in international gateway cities throughout the United Kingdom, continental Europe, North America, Asia, New Zealand, North Africa and the middle East.
My position at the Hotel is Guest Relations Officer, so basically it is all about to supervise the front office all units activities during my shift and handle guest relations, request and concerns.

Program: Gap Year
Location: China
Posted: Nov 4, 2016
Overall:
6
Support:
6
Value:
6

LTL Mandarin School

I spent 14 weeks in total studying with LTL (6 weeks in Beijing, 6 weeks in Shanghai and 2 weeks in Chengde) in the summer of 2015.

I was working and studied 6 hours in the evening, and also stayed in a homestay in Beijing. I finished by 2 weeks intensive learning in Chengde.

The whole experience with LTL, from beginning to end was excellent.

Alexander helped guide me through the process, organised the one-on-one teachers for me - as well as providing me with a fantastic homestay family in Beijing.

The Chengde experience was also something else - pure immersion, which really helped my Chinese move up a notch.

I would recommend LTL in Beijing, Shanghai and Chengde to anyone.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Jun 3, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

The Intern Group

I went to Hong Kong with this program in 2015 summer and had a very positive overall experience. It was a very well organized program and the value boost to my resume/overall career enhancement well exceeds the program fee......indeed I think it will pay for itself many times over. Getting to work in the financial capital of Asia - getting coached by a leading Asian financier - and living this with other interns from all over the world = priceless.
A once in a lifetime experience.

Program:
Location: China
Posted: Mar 13, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

I spent my winter break in Chengdu, China interning for a food promoting social media company. It was such an amazing experience. Upon arrival, I was greeted by a member of the Projects abroad staff who showed me to my apartment, workplace, language school, and the surrounding "hangout areas". My apartment was in a very central location about a 10 minute walk from my placement and my roommates were from all over the world! At my placement I made lifelong friends who showed me the "real China". They encouraged me to try the local food and experience life as a local. They were locals who were not much older than I was. Having the opportunity to become friends with my coworkers really allowed me to experience China in an in depth way. I even got to experience a family meal at one of my coworker's homes. In addition, Projects abroad offers language classes which made getting around Chengdu a bit easier (it is not a very westernized city so not very many people speak English). I learned more interning in China than any class or book could have ever taught me. It is an experience that I would recommend to any one. Stay open minded, try all of the food even if it sounds gross, make friends with the locals, and most of all soak in every moment. (If you're in Chengdu, go see the pandas! They are so cute!)

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Feb 14, 2016
Overall:
9
Support:
8
Value:
9

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

I spent 6 weeks volunteering in China, working 2 weeks in a disability centre in Xi’an and the other 4, teaching in the city of Weinan.

David Zhou runs the program in China and I cannot stress enough how great he is as a program leader. Even before I arrived in China, David was always on hand to answer any questions or concerns that I had. This did not stop once I arrived either. Whether helping other volunteers to arrange post placement travel plans, recommending food to try, or helping us when we got lost, he always had time. As did his family. If you’re fortunate enough to stay at the home base in Xi’an, like I did for the first two weeks of my placement and every weekend thereafter, you’ll be welcomed with open arms from David and his family.

As you are pretty much given free reign in the placements, it can be difficult to know what to teach, what to include in lessons and how to get everyone involved. Whatever programme you opt for however, the support you will receive from the people around you is second to none, provided you’re not afraid to ask for help or guidance. The kids I worked with were extremely curious and sometimes a little shy, but all of them loved playing games and having fun. It was often a case of trial and error, but the kids enthusiasm and excitement at having you there definitely made teaching one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

It’s also quite difficult to sum up just how good the food in China is. Whether eating in the Muslim Quarter or dining at Jim’s (Ask David to take you), China knows how to turn ordinary food into something that’s unforgettable. It can however, take some getting used to. Food in the homestay is basic but lovely, and for the best Chinese dumplings in the whole of China, you need not leave the homestay.

All in all, I would certainly recommend the IVHQ China programme. It could be one of the most rewarding things you ever do!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: China
Posted: Jan 24, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
9
Value:
9

Comments

Hi Amy, thanks for your feedback. It's great to hear about your experience in China and we are glad that you felt supported by IVHQ and by our local team in Xi'an. Very jealous of the dumplings! Thanks for being an IVHQer and we hope to see you on another program soon.

Gi2C China Internship

I will be direct. This company is a scam. They claim that 80% of their interns get job offers by Fortune 500 or MNC companies in China.This is BS. As one of their own former employees told me, they have NEVER had any of their interns placed with a Fortune 500 or MNC Company.

Also, after I did research at the below web sites I discovered that they fabricated (or bought) their "great reviews" and testimonials.

http://www.scam.com/showthread.php?681896-Gi2C-is-a-clever-China-interns...

http://www.scamorg.com/gi2c-org-38

http://eslwatch.info/forum/china/117-fraud-warning-gi2c-and-other-china-...

http://chinascampatrol.wordpress.com

http://antifraudintl.org/threads/beware-of-china-internship-visa-scams.9...

You will also notice in the last link that Gi2c tells its clients to lie on their visa application in order to get into China. Why? Because since 2013 Z visas are required for China internships and Gi2c is not licensed nor allowed by law to sponsor Z visas. Just google "Gi2c internship scams" and learn the truth about these crooks.

Program: Gap Year
Location: China
Posted: Nov 23, 2015
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - China