International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

Fully Verified What's this?
9.3 / 10 after 268 Reviews Based on overall, support & value average ratings

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ) is the trusted volunteer organization, providing safe, quality and extremely affordable volunteering placements in countries all over the world. Each year they place over 5000 volunteers abroad and have a wide range of volunteering opportunities in Argentina, Bali, Brazil, Cambodia, China, Colombia - Bogota and Cartagena, Costa Rica, Ecuador, FijiGhana, Guatemala, India - Delhi & DharamsalaItalyPortugal, Spain, New ZealandKenya , Laos, Madagascar, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Peru - Cusco & Lima, Philippines, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, ThailandRomaniaUganda, Victoria Falls, Vietnam - Hanoi & Ho Chi Minh City and Zambia.

Submit a review

I had an amazing time in Cambodia, it was my first trip overseas and I was very nervous. Luckily for me the co ordinators were helpful and friendly and I felt completely supported before and during my month volunteering.
What an amazing, eye opening and humbling experience.
Thank you Cambodia and thank you Volunteer IHQ for an incredible, life changing month.

Program:
Location:
Posted: December 6, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
Age:
25

Comments

Hi Chloe, It's great to hear from you! We are glad to hear that you had such a positive first trip overseas and volunteer experience. Thanks for being an IVHQer and we hope to see you again on another IVHQ program.

I am extremely disappointed in IVHQ. I paid $292 for absolutely nothing! Their website said it's refundable with zero mention of restrictions, etc. I tried to cancel within 48 hours. Buried on a different webpage are the terms that state only refundable if service is more than 60 days out. I complained that at least a high-level general communication of restrictions should be mentioned next to "refundable". Their response was too bad as you already clicked "Accept." It is sleazy especially for an organization that is for a good cause to communicate so poorly and basically scam a college student.

Program:
Location:
Posted: October 21, 2015
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1
Age:
22

Comments

Hi Yasmin, we're so sorry that you had to cancel your trip. As discussed with you, we have offered you a fee credit so if you decide to re-book at anytime within the next 12 months, you can do so free of charge. All volunteers agree to our Terms and Conditions when they apply and these provide information about our refunds policy, however we appreciate your feedback and will have a look at how we can make that aspect of the Terms more obvious. Thanks, and all the best!

There is a typhoid in the camp by Nosy Be. The staff did nothing about it. The toilets and showers were disgusting. The staff were indifferent to the health risks that they subjected their volunteers to. The head office in New Zealand after showing initial concern denied the outbreak of typhoid in the camp and refused to communicate any further. I strongly recommend that no one risks booking any volunteering trip with this company.

Program:
Location:
Posted: September 30, 2015
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1
Age:
50

Comments

We can assure volunteers that our Madagascar program is safe and hygienic, with no reported cases of serious illness. If anyone has any questions at all about health, safety or support from our local team at any of our programs please contact your IVHQ Program Manager or info@volunteerhq.org.

This program was everything I could've hoped for and more. My only regret is that I could not stay longer. The home was in an authentic area south of Delhi, within a short walk to our placement and the metro station. Everything was so smooth and convenient, I really think it was worth every penny. While it always seems counter intuitive to pay to volunteer, the service and convenience you get with this program, combined with the awesome experience, make this so worth it. The school was awesome. The kids were so sweet, they got us all gifts on our last day. Very touching and a truly memorable experience. So glad I got to take part in this. Great host family, I always felt welcome and it felt like my home. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Aloha

-Phil

Program:
Location:
Posted: June 19, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
Age:
24

Comments

Hi Phil, my daughter is going to Delhi in December, and I was wondering what can you tell me about the safety of the places you go or stay in? all i hear about International HQ is great, but as a mom is always great to get some reassurance!! thanks!!

IVHQ is a great program, especially the New Delhi program. The program was highly recommended by a friend of mine who did their placement in Peru. I lived with an awesome families while i was volunteering, like many of my other fellow friends who volunteered in the Delhi program. The food was amazing (Chandni is an amazing cook), they took in consideration what people liked and disliked, as well as, switching up the menu items quite frequently. My family did everything they could to make me feel comfortable from tinkering with the air conditions to even trying to fix my laptop! They would even go out of there way to pick us up late at night when we couldn't get a taxi. I honestly felt a part of the family. The actually program itself is well structured and when problems do arise the program director and staff are very willing to help you have the best time volunteering as possible! I have only positives to say about the program.

Program:
Location:
Posted: June 19, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
By: helen954
Age:
18

Comments

Hi - I'm looking to volunteer with IVHQ on their Madagascar Teaching scheme. Has anyone had any experience on this particular scheme? Thank you
Hi Helen, Thanks for sharing a little about your experience volunteering on our India - Delhi program. It sounds like you were really well looked after by your hosts, which is great to hear and we are glad it was such a positive experience. Thanks for volunteering with IVHQ!

Pages