International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

Fully Verified What's this?
9.3 / 10 after 235 Reviews Based on overall, support & value average ratings

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ) is the trusted volunteer organization, providing safe, quality and extremely affordable volunteering placements developing countries all over the world. Each year they place over 5000 volunteers abroad and have a wide range of volunteering opportunities in Argentina, Bali, Brazil, Cambodia, China, Colombia - Bogota and Cartagena, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Ghana, Guatemala, India - Delhi & Dharamsala, Kenya - Nairobi & Maasai, Laos, Madagascar, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Peru - Cusco & Lima, Philippines, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, Victoria Falls, Vietnam - Hanoi & Ho Chi Minh City and Zambia.

Submit a review

I volonteered in Ghana with IVHQ (Ghana Volonteer Corps) for 6 weeks in an orphanage. I have to say that it was a great experience to discover the ghanaian culture, the ghanaian people who are so nice and always smiling, the wonderful nature ... For the moment I flew into Ghana, a staf member was there for me. I arrived in Accra with a flight delayed of an hour and a half, after 11pm, but despite this, there was someone waiting for me. During my whole stay the Ghana Volonteer Corps Staff was very helpful if we needed anything, driving out to our placement every weeks to check if all is doing well. I recommand volonteering with IVHQ and Ghana Volonteer Corps.
It was an amazing experience that I’ll never forget !

Program:
Location:
Posted: August 27, 2014
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
10
Age:
20

Comments

Hi Emmanuel, Thank you for volunteering in Ghana! It is always awesome for us to hear about our volunteers amazing experiences. Thanks for the feedback and we hope to have you volunteer with us again soon.

I am here to tell you about my volunteer experience with IVHQ last mouth. I volunteered in Ghana Africa for one month from July to August 2014 and I have to say it was the best experience of my life and really has changed it forever. On arrival in Ghana, I was shocking that everyone’s holding things with their head instead of hands. It was so interesting to see people standing on the street and selling goods to us. Once at the volunteer house we met Benedict Adeli, Erin Adeli and Edward (Eddie) Adeli the head coordinator of the Ghanaian branch of IVHQ. After enjoying a lovely meal cooked by Eddie's gorgeous wife Erin I went to sleep in a hotel. In the morning I woke up early, so I helped set the tables and prepare for breakfast in the house. Gideon is an amazingly gentle giant, and I really enjoyed spending time talking with him. After breakfast we had orientation and we were sent on our ways to our placements and mine is the green program. People and children at the orphanage are amazing. They are so nice, especially the kids. I love the boys and enjoy playing football with them. They are really good at play football. And I love all the little kids, they are asking for a hug all the time. I had so much fun playing game and chasing around with them. Also, on the first weekend, we went to the Cape Coast. It was so beautiful that I could not distinguish whether that is Mediterranean or Pacific Ocean During this journey, I met so many interesting friends, and we chat a lot. Like Mitch, who is also a volunteer at the orphanage and I like him very much. I had an excellent happy time in Ghana. It was so amazing!

Program:
Location:
Posted: August 12, 2014
Overall:
8
Support:
8
Value:
8
By: iceAurora
Age:

I am here to tell you about my volunteer experience with IVHQ last year. I volunteered in Ghana Africa for two months from October to December 2013 and I have to say it was the best experience of my life and really has changed it forever. On arrival in Ghana I was greatest at the airport by Evans Kojo I have to say we didn't click right away as I had a slightly rocky experience at the airport but after that we became friends and Evans was teaching me Twi one of Ghana's national languages. Once at the volunteer house we met Benedict Adeli, Erin Adeli and Edward (Eddie) Adeli the head coordinator of the Ghanaian branch of IVHQ. After enjoying a lovely meal cooked by Eddie's gorgeous wife Erin I went to sleep of jet lag. In the morning I woke to more volunteers who had arrived when I was sleeping I wandered into the kitchen to meet Gideon the chef being assisted by Evans so I helped make breakfast. Gideon is an amazingly gentle giant, and I really enjoyed spending time talking with him. After breakfast we had orientation and we were sent on our merry way to our placements mine being the scarlet program better known as BBF or Blessed Bright Futures orphanage. Aside from all the amazing people and children at the orphanage I am here to review my experience with IVHQ and their staff. On a weekend 'away' in Kokrobite (one of my favourite places in Ghana) we got to meet Dan Radcliffe the founder of IVHQ I felt very lucky as he only meets about one percent of his volunteers. Dan brought along George his camera man Eddie and Gidion came along also we had a great time relaxing with them all over dinner which they kindly paid for. And its these little touches which made the experience all the more special for me. They are all honestly great people and I can happily call them all friends.

Program:
Location:
Posted: July 31, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
7
Value:
10
Age:
23

Comments

Hi Gabriella, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your experience volunteering in Ghana with IVHQ last year. Thank you for the feedback and for volunteering with IVHQ.

TRULY AMAZING!!! I went out to Ghana in April 2014 after having this trip planned for around 8 months i could not wait to begin my dream i had imagined since a young age. At first i thought i could never plan and follow through with a trip like this all by myself but right from the start the coordinators and staff at IVHQ were always on hand to assist with any issues or questions and up to the date i flew they made me feel at ease, even though they had many other volunteers to help, i still felt valued and that they really wanted to make sure my trip went smoothly. So my nerves were calmed and excitement was taking over! Which was good!
As soon as i arrived at the airport in Ghana i was overwhelmed a little, but as soon as i saw the IVHQ staff member Gideon waiting for me i was instantly at ease. His warm friendly calming manor, whilst making sure i was okay as i looked like a lost puppy, really helped. I could tell instantly i was in safe hands.
When we got back to the volunteer house we were well looked after with water, shown around the house, introduced to the other staff and then we had our dinner cooked, followed by breakfast and a welcome meeting the next day. I strangely have never been made to feel more at home and welcomed in a place so far from home. This really helps when on a trip in an unfamiliar country. I already knew i had a safe place to rely on with people on hand that really cared about your safety if i needed it. It meant i could relax and truly enjoy my experience from the get go.

On route to our placements Gideon and Evans made sure we had everything we needed, like money etc, and told us all we needed to know, the rest was for us to experience :) They reassured us if we needed anything that they are only a phone call away, they checked in on us and we were never ever made to feel like we were a hassle, they were always so happy to help. This really made you feel supported and not alone in what you were doing. They gave you your independence which is important as this is a personal trip but it was amazing to know support was there. I personally appreciated this as i am still only young. I never had any issues whilst away in terms of safety, food etc. I was always well looked after and obviously had me own common sense to prevent any issues from rising.

I did get a little sick, which is extremely common due to change in diet, water, weather etc, but it was nothing extreme. I told one of the staff members Evans and he made sure i got back to the volunteer house so i could be looked after there. He did everything he could to make sure i was okay and getting back to health again, there was nothing he wouldn't do to make sure i was feeling as best i could. He then took me back to my placement once i was well enough and checked up on me for the next few days. This made me feel at ease as being sick in a country where you know nothing can be quite scary. But i felt no fear as i knew i was being looked after. A big thank you for that. You could tell he really was concerned for my health and genuinely wanted to make sure i was well as soon as possible so i could get back to being with the kids as he could also see the passion i felt for them. The staff there really would do anything for you. YOUR ALL AMAZING :)

The programmes available at IVHQ are simply life changing, not only for you but for the people you work with. In my personal opinion there is no better feeling you can get from doing this. You get a real sense of pride and passion from all involved at IVHQ, it is very family orientated and that is exactly what i was hoping to find in this organisation. I was not disappointed, i came away not only changing my own life, the life of the kids i so openly bonded with, but also a part of IVHQ and Ghana itself. It will always be a big part of my life and i have IVHQ to thank for that.

I will most definitely be back... i need to come and find my heart again, it's in safe hands in Ghana though!
If anyone has any doubts.... quite simply, don't!
It is amazing and life changing, the staff there will not let you feel anything but calmed, loved and valued as you start your amazing journey with their programmes available. The kids out their will take your heart. I miss it every single day.

You all deserve so much, you changed my life. Your positive attitude, pride, passion and love has all made its way into my heart!
See you soon Ghana! :)

Program:
Location:
Posted: July 30, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
Age:
21

Comments

Hi Becki, Thank you for volunteering with IVHQ in Ghana! It is always great to hear back from our volunteers, and reading about your experience in Ghana is definitely why we do what we do here at IVHQ. It seems like you gained so much from your 4 weeks volunteer experience in Ghana which is awesome. We hope to see you again in Ghana soon.

When I arrived in Ghana I was picked up by an IVHQ coordinator and brought back to the volunteer house in Accra. They were really helpful when it came to my lost luggage and setting up my phone with a new SIM card. I had one of the coordinators show me around Accra with a few other volunteers the next day as I had arrived a day early for my program.

Once I went through orientation, I was brought to the Gold Program where I had signed up for construction and renovation. The other volunteers and the foreman of my program taught me all I needed to know. We worked all morning and some afternoons in one of the most rewarding things I have ever done. It is fulfilling work because you can see each day how much you have accomplished as you make and lay bricks. After work each day children from the nearby school would often come to play at the program grounds so the volunteers had the opportunity to play with them. You will get to know the children so well your lives will forever be changed by talking to the sweetest, happiest kids on earth.

On the weekends I went away on trips both organized by IVHQ and on my own. Both were great experiences and with each I had the same amount of support from an IVHQ coordinator. We must have called Gideon over 8 times in a day while trying to organize our trip and he always answered all our questions and called hotels for us, and even picked us up from the trotro (local bus) when we arrived in Accra in the dark. We were also given our foreman's phone number and told by him to contact him when we arrived at our destinations and to let him bargain for us with the taxi drivers over the phone.

Overall they really took care of us and kept us extremely safe. Never once was I worried about my safety while in the care of IVHQ members or at my program. It was the greatest experience of my life and I plan on going back again with IVHQ. I would also love to do the construction program again. Going into it as a girl I was afraid I would not be physically able to do the work, but as hard as it was, I was able to do it and noticeably got stronger and more skilled as the days went on. Talking to other volunteers at different programs, I am glad I did construction because I felt I got the same experiences as them with the children as well as building something that I know will be there years from now.

If anyone wants a quick version of my trip feel free to check out this video I made when I got back. If you volunteer abroad with IVHQ, you will not be disappointed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5BwOQ7dDPzU

Program:
Location:
Posted: July 23, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
Age:
19

Comments

Hi Monica, We are so glad to hear that volunteering in Ghana was the greatest experience of your life. Your video is fantastic and no doubt will help so many future volunteers to see the type of work that is a part of our Construction and Renovation project. Thank you for your feedback and for volunteering with IVHQ.

Pages