Global Vision International (GVI)

Not Verified What's this?
9 / 10 after 202 Reviews Based on overall, support & value average ratings
Program website: http://www.gviusa.com/

Submit a review

On July 2012 my perspective of life changed completely. I was completely blinded about the conditions most people live in. When I signed up to go to Mombasa, Kenya with GVI I knew it would be an experience of a lifetime, but never in a million years did I imagine it would be a life changing experience. As soon as I landed in Mombasa, GVI made me feel as part of the family, and it just got better from there. Every moment was so special in its own way, from meeting the volunteers to teaching my first lesson. It was a big reality check but it also made me realize how little one needs to be happy. My first day teaching gave me goose bumps, I had 40 kids to teach and names to learn, but just realizing how eager every single kid was to learn made me want to try harder and harder. Not a day went by of the two months I was there that I did not want to get up to go teach. I saw the brightest smiles that will stay with me forever, I heard the most contagious and euphoric laughs I have ever heard, and I met the most grateful people I believe I ever will. After two moths of the best experience of my life I knew I wanted to go back soon it was just a matter of finding the right time. Less than one year later they asked me to go back as a staff member, so on May 2013 I got the chance to go back to Mombasa for 9 weeks. I just came back 4 days ago and I still cannot wrap my head around the amazing experiences I had. Each and every day was so unique and full of life in its very own way that there was no chance of having an “ordinary” day. Hopefully I will have the chance to go back in the near future because not only is it fulfilling and life changing, but it really is impressive noticing the improvement one can make over a short period of time.

Program:
Location:
Posted: August 1, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
By: fabrecar
Age:
19

Through a funny term of events, I booked a trip to Greece to volunteer with turtles in Mavrovouni, 4 hours south of Athens. It turned out to be one of the best decisions I've made!
Every day something new and unexpected happened, the location was absolutely picturesque, and the people were unforgettable. It was unquestionably one of the hardest and best trips I have been on. Each morning we would go for morning expeditions, where we walked up and down local beaches looking for evidence of nests, hatchlings and any other turtle tracks. The two weeks were spent walking along beaches, building nests, excavating nests, watching hatchlings scurry to the ocean, helping educate locals about how to treat and look after turtles, and relaxing on the beach, enjoying the amazing people's company.
It was personally one of the most self-satisfying experiences of my life - words cannot express the feeling you get from knowing the work you did made an impact on what could be hundreds of animal's lives. It changed my perspective on life, and led me to the decision to start studying towards one day working in the eco-tourism industry. My 2 weeks in Greece literally changed my life! I would recommend it to anyone who wants to experience happiness and personal satisfaction.

Program:
Location:
Posted: July 26, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
Age:
19

Last sumer I spent a month in Fiji with GVI on their Community Development Program. This was one of the best experiences I've ever had. The people were all amazing, the staff, the locals, the other volunteers. The staff made it very easy to get there and settle in and made sure I knew what I was doing at each part of the program. For me the highlight was teaching at the local school, you can really see it makes a difference to the children out there and they want to learn which makes it even better. On top of all that, the time off was incredible too, at weekends we were allowed to explore Fiji which is the most amazing lace I've ever been. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who wants to volunteer abroad.

Program:
Location:
Posted: July 15, 2013
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
8
By: Ben_1010
Age:
21

I was at Quepos in August 2012 for two weeks, and honestly that was far too short for such an amazing place and project! Between the spanish classes with amazing and fun instructors, to working with the children in Quepos and Boca Vieja who were really amazing to work with, and the rich biodiversity of the place I fell in love with this little town. The children were so full of energy that it challenged me to find innovative ways to get their attention, and the times I did, I got a roaring response! The only possible downside was not being placed with a family to get a better grip of the challenges they face, but obviously this may be tricky, due to volunteers personal levels of comfort. Nonetheless I would definitely recommend this project; and I would definitely try to go back once I've saved up enough to go!

Program:
Location:
Posted: July 13, 2013
Overall:
8
Support:
9
Value:
5
Age:
20

The most amazing 10 months of my life. The greatest way I could've spent my gap year. I met inspirational people who I'll never forget, earned qualifications that will help me towards my future and just had a freekin awesome time.
Whilst on the expedition i constantly felt that I was contributing to something bigger (sorry to sound so cheesy, queso en espanol ;) see i even learnt some spanish!)
The diving was great! Turtles, Eagle rays, Eels, Barracuda. Learning the target species gave you a greater appreciation of the diversity of the reef.And then further study into the target species showed the threats, and gave purpose to contribution of me being there.
The living was basic, but it was worth it just to live on a beach for 6 months. Thoroughly thoroughly enjoyed myself there.

Program:
Location:
Posted: July 10, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
8
By: maekld
Age:
18

Pages